Skip to Main Content
eBooks
Clinical Procedures in Primary Eye Care, 5th ed. by David B. Elliott, 2021
Well organized and easy to read, Clinical Procedures in Primary Eye Care, 5th Edition, takes an accessible, step-by-step approach to describing the commonly used primary care procedures that facilitate accurate diagnosis and effective patient management. This practical, clinically-focused text offers succinct descriptions of today's most frequently encountered optometric techniques supported by research-based evidence. You'll find essential instructions for mastering the procedures you need to know, including recent technical advances in the field. Discusses technical advances that are dramatically altering optometry: Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) and ultra-wide field imaging (optomaps). Presents outstanding new digital images of OCT cases and optomaps for a wide variety of conditions of the central and peripheral retina. Focuses on evidence-based optometry; all procedures include a section that reviews when and how the procedure should be measured and uses clinical wisdom in addition to research-based evidence. Presents new digital images of normal variations of the eye - crucial visual support for understanding what is normal and what is disease. Helps you clearly visualize procedures and eye disorders through full-color photographs, diagrams, and video clips. Provides fully revised print on dry eye assessment based on the latest international Dry Eye Workshop (DEWS) guidelines. Features coverage of changes in the eye due to high myopia, and expounds the need for myopia control techniques. Offers extensive material online to enhance learning: video clips, interactive testing sections, additional photographs, and more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780702077890
Introduction to the Operating Room by Amalia Cochran and Ruth Braga, 2017
A unique "survival manual" for those new to the operating room This one-of-a-kind resource answers all the questions that newbie clinicians, nurses, and allied health workers have about the Operating Room but are afraid to ask. It is a complete and candid explanation of the sights, sounds, technologies, personalities, and culture that you will experience when you enter that complex, stress-inducing world. With coverage ranging from "Who Are These People?" to "Equipment from A to Z," Introduction to the Operating Room delivers the practical, real-world guidance newcomers need to ensure patient safety and their own career success. ■ The first book to combine a description of Operating Room people (and their roles), culture, and rules with a discussion of equipment and technology ■ Logically divided into three sections: Pre-Op, Intraop, and Post-Op ■ Includes a valuable appendix, "Quick Guide Answers to the What If's of the OR" ■ A must-have resource for anyone wishing to impress the attending surgeons and staff of the Operating Room If you are looking for a concise, engagingly written operating room primer that delves into topics not covered in any other resource, Introduction to the Operating Room is required reading.
The Ophthalmic Assistant, 11th ed. by Raymond M. Stein; Melvin I. Freeman; Rebecca Steinet al, 2023
Covering all the knowledge and skills needed for everyday duties as well as success on certification and recertification exams, The Ophthalmic Assistant, 11th Edition, is an essential resource for allied health personnel working in ophthalmology, optometry, opticianry, and other eye care settings. Drs. Harold A. Stein, Raymond M. Stein, and Melvin I. Freeman are joined by new editor Dr. Rebecca Stein and several new contributing authors who provide practical, up-to-date guidance on ocular diseases, surgical procedures, medications, and equipment, as well as paramedical procedures and office management for today's practice. This outstanding reference and review tool provides essential knowledge and guidance for ophthalmic assistants, technicians, and technologists as critical members of the eye care team. Keeps you up to date with coverage of key topics such as topography-guided PRK, cataract surgery with multifocal IOLs to treat presbyopia, and OCT and OCTA, as well as the latest information on basic science, new testing procedures and equipment, and two new chapters on refractive surgery and eye banking. Provides full-color visual guidance for identification of ophthalmic disorders, explanations of difficult concepts, and depictions of the newest equipment used in ophthalmology and optometry-more than 1,000 images in all. Features more than 400 interactive multiple-choice review questions that test your knowledge and understanding of key concepts. Includes a bonus color-image atlas that tests your clinical recognition of disease and disorders of the eye. Contains convenient quick-reference appendices with hospital/practice forms for more efficient patient record keeping, conversion tables, and numerous language translations, plus information on ocular emergencies, pharmaceuticals, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
