EndNote version 21 is now available. When you launch EndNote from Mayo Dock, you will be prompted to choose whether you want to upgrade to the newer version. There are no compatibility issues between versions 20 and 21. New features in version 21 include improved full-text retrieval and completely new online library sharing system. For additional help, contact your local librarian or email library@mayo.edu.
EndNote at Mayo
What is EndNote and why should I use it?
EndNote is software for storing and managing bibliographic references.
EndNote allows you to:
- Create your own EndNote library;
- Manually add references, including full-text research articles, or import them from databases;
- Add full-text PDFs and other files to your references
- Import citations from a variety of different online bibliographic databases (PubMed, Ovid, CINAHL) or from publisher's websites. You can import citations from journal articles, book chapters, web pages, legal rules, etc
- Insert in-text citations from your library with the Cite While You Write feature in Microsoft Word
- Sync your EndNote library across multiple devices with an online account, so you can access your research anytime, anywhere from the cloud
- Share references and libraries with collaborators
EndNote terminology:
- Library: A database of literature references. Each reference in an EndNote library is stored as an individual record with different data fields for the the author, title, etc. References can contain more than just citation information (e.g abstracts).
- Reference type: Templates for the individual records in an EndNote library (e.g. journals, books, newspaper articles, conference proceedings).
- Field: Each Reference Type contains a variety of Fields, depending on the Reference Type. Examples of Fields include author, title, year, etc.
- Import filter: Files that provide a match between references downloaded from databases and the data fields in EndNote records. Import filters are designed to work with specific information providers (such as Ovid) and specific databases (such as PubMed)
- Output style: Files used to control the appearance of in-text citations and references in a bibliography.
EndNote at Mayo
Mayo Clinic has an institutional license to EndNote. If you are on the Mayo network, you can download it from the Mayo Dock on Window computers or laptops or the Self Service tool on Macs. To install EndNote on your personal computer, visit the library's EndNote installation page.
Using Mayo Dock:
Install EndNote on Mayo-Owned Computers
To install EndNote on a Mayo-owned PC, use Mayo Dock.
To install EndNote on a Mayo-owned Mac, use the Self Service tool.
Install EndNote on Your Personal PC or Mac
Mayo Clinic's license for EndNote allows staff and learners to install the software on their own personal devices. Terms of this license require that you use this software for Mayo Clinic related work or study. Visit the link below to download installer files onto your personal device. You may be prompted to login with your Mayo Clinic LANID and password. Your browser may also alert you that you are downloading an executable file.
Download EndNote installer files for personal devices
EndNote21:
Protect Your Work With Data Restoration Function
The single reference restoration feature introduces the ability to compare and restore previous versions of individual references to correct any accidental mishaps. And, if the unthinkable should happen and your library files get deleted or damaged, you can restore your library with our new data restoration function, ensuring your research is not lost.
Stay Organized with Tags
Tags are customizable labels that let you organize references how you like. You can add tags to references and customize the color and name of tags. Add multiple tags to a reference allows anyone who shares your library can view a tag, making tags a great way to quickly and intuitively organize references.
Past Version:
EndNote version 20 is the previous Endnote version available to Mayo Clinic staff. Use the MayoDock tool to install the latest version on your Windows computer.
Mayo Clinic maintains an institutional license for EndNote, and you can install it on any Windows computer or laptop connected to the Mayo network from the Mayo Dock. Mac users can install EndNote on Mayo-owned Macs using the self-service tool.
Mayo Clinic's EndNote license also allows students and staff to install EndNote on their personal computers. You can find detailed instructions for downloading and installing the Windows and Mac versions of EndNote 20 on the Library website.
To upgrade your personal Windows computer, laptop, or Mac, visit the Library's EndNote page and download the installation files for EndNote 20.
This YouTube video highlights how to use EndNote 20 in seven minutes (for Windows users).
Issues with EndNote x9.2 (or earlier versions) and EndNote x9.3
With the EndNote x9.3 update, the structure of how the EndNote library files are saved was changed. Compressed EndNote libraries created in version x9.3 can only be opened by users who also have version x9.3 or higher.
Example #1: Bill creates an EndNote library using version x9.3. Bill needs to share this EndNote library with his mentor, Sara. Sara has not updated her EndNote program and still has version x9.2. When Sara tries to open the compressed EndNote library Bill sent to her, Sara receives an error message and only sees an EndNote library with zero citations. Sara will need to update her EndNote program to version x9.3 to view the library Bill created.
Example #2: Ted and Diane are working on a paper together. Ted creates an EndNote library using the EndNote version x9.1 and sends a compressed copy of the library to Diane. Diane has updated her EndNote program to version x9.3. Diane is able to open the EndNote library without a problem.
To view which version of EndNote you are currently using, go to "Help" in the menu and then find the "About EndNote..." section and it will show you what version you are currently using.
If you are using any version older than EndNote x9.3, it is highly recommended that you update your software to the latest version. Contact your local librarian for help or email library@mayo.edu
Technical Support
Library staff can help troubleshoot basic EndNote issues. If you need help installing or running EndNote, contact Clarivate Analytics EndNote support.
EndNote Technical Support
Monday – Friday, 9 a.m. – 8 p.m. Eastern (GMT -5)
+1-800-336-4474, press 4
or
Submit an online technical support request
https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/?language=en_US
Troubleshooting problems with EndNote:
If you try to open an EndNote library that you received as an Outlook email attachment, you will get the message:
"You do not have access privileges required to complete that operation"
To solve this, first download the attachment to your desktop or H:drive and then open it. EndNote libraries cannot be opened directly from email programs.
(Note: Compressed Endnote libraries ending in .enlx can be opened from an email, but will need to be saved to desktop or H:Drive.)
Mayo Clinic Libraries PDF Guides for EndNote 21
- EndNote 21 - Working with EndNote Libraries
- EndNote 21 comparison checklist
- Sharing in EndNote 21
- Syncing in EndNote 21
- Adding a new reference
Compare and contrast the three most recent versions of EndNote desktop; EndNote X9 through EndNote 21
Mayo Clinic Libraries - PDF Handouts
Clarivate Analytics:
Click link below to view a list of all Quick Reference Guides for EndNote 20:
https://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/users/en20