Dermatology: Laboratory Medicine / Pathology

Barnhill's Dermatopathology, 4th ed. by Raymond L. Barnhill; A. Neil Crowson; Cynthia M. Magro et al, 2020 For virtually every kind of skin lesion, this skill-sharpening resource has everything clinicians need to successfully perform differential diagnosis at the microscopic level. Barnhill's Dermatopathology features a systematic, algorithmic approach that cuts through the complexity of the discipline’s traditional disease-oriented focus, providing a ready-to-use diagnostic tool that puts the entire world of dermatopathology into perspective. This classic has won acclaim as the only dermatology pathology resource that is valuable for both teaching and for clinical practice and differential diagnosis. While other references may be more exhaustive, denser, or larger, none are more clinically useful as Barnhill's Dermatopathology. With 15% of the dermatology board and recertification examination consisting of dermatopathology topics, this is also an outstanding board review tool. Filled with hundreds of color photomicrographs, the book features a clear five-part organization and nearly forty detailed chapters―each reflecting the scientifically rigorous, up-to-date insights of authors who are acknowledged experts in the field. The book’s vast scope encompasses all skin disease processes―inflammatory, non-inflammatory, infections, and proliferations (harmatomas, hyperplasias, and neoplasms, plus disorders of nails and oral mucosa).

Dermatopathology by Tim McCalmont; Michael Tetzlaff; Erik A. Williams et al, 2025 A new volume in the Surgical Pathology: Case-Based Approach to Diagnosis series, Dermatopathology offers a practical, real-world approach to this complex area of surgical pathology. Actual cases, highlighted by hundreds of high-quality clinical and histologic photographs, help you learn and retain key information, including which pathologic findings are clinically significant and which are not. Useful as both an everyday bench-side reference and as an authoritative review for certification and recertification exams, this resource uses diagnostically relevant cases to teach how to evaluate and interpret even the most challenging lesions. Discusses advances in molecular diagnostic testing, its capabilities and its limitations, including targeted and personalized medicine Incorporates the latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems, as well as new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities Integrates dermatopathology, clinical correlations, and clinical photographs throughout Features up-to-date information on biologics, drug eruptions, and other developments in therapeutics An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Additional digital ancillary content may publish up to 6 weeks following the publication date

Dermatopathology, 4th ed. by David J. DiCaudo; Dirk M. Elston; Tammie C. Ferringer et al, 2025 Using an enjoyable, easy-to-understand approach, Dermatopathology, Fourth Edition, combines online lectures and vast labeled image collections both in print and online to provide a uniquely effective learning package in this challenging subspecialty. Dr. Dirk M. Elston, Dr. Tammie Ferringer and colleagues walk you through the "must-know" points of each topic, making dermatopathology easier to understand. It's an ideal resource for exam and board preparation and for mastering efficient, accurate diagnoses of the most important common dermatologic findings seen in practice. Uses an outline atlas format with ample visuals, key points, and pearls Includes abundant high-resolution histopathology examples with labels and pointers highlighting key aspects of each slide, providing additional clarity Features 27 lectures-more than 8 hours of targeted teaching that take you through the must-know elements of each topic in a dynamic, engaging manner Contains expanded coverage of soft tissue tumors, and new entities such as acantholytic dyskeratoma, borrelial disease, acute generalized exanthematous pustulosis (AGEP), acral erythema of chemotherapy, epithelioid histiocytoma, cellular digital fibroma, nuchal type fibroma, elephantiasis nostras verrucosa, ganglion, ossifying fibromyxoid tumor of soft parts, aggressive angiomyxoma, alveolar soft part sarcoma, and much more Offers extensive, visually stunning images in print with bonus materials online, including 2,500 virtual infectious disease slides, a soft tissue tumor atlas with 300 images, a lymphoma atlas, and more; print atlas includes more than 1,300 images (300 new to this edition) Provides new flashcards online to test your knowledge and identify areas for further review An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud

Dermatopathology: Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology, Third Edition by Klaus J. Busam; Pedram Gerami, 2025 The goal of the third edition of this textbook remains the same as before: an introductory to midlevel no-nonsense practical guide to the histopathologic diagnosis of skin disorders. We want to provide a book for residents in pathology or dermatology and fellows in dermatopathology that they can manage to read and use to deal with most daily encountered diagnostic challenges. In an effort to keep the book compact, compromises were necessary, which meant leaving out entities or mentioning some only briefly. As before, we minimized references to save space for text and illustrations with the same rationale—that we do not aim to provide an encyclopedic book, and readers can easily query online libraries on the Internet for primary references. We decided to put together a third edition of the book because significant updates were necessary. The field has advanced, especially in the area of molecular diagnostics. Most importantly, however, the third edition provides an opportunity to bring in a coeditor (Dr. Gerami) and new authors for major revisions of prior chapters and to add yet another new chapter (Pediatric Dermatopathology).

Diagnostic Atlas of Cutaneous Mesenchymal Neoplasia by J. Eduardo Calonje; Alexander J. Lazar; Bostjan Luzar, 2020 With its many diagnostic categories, relevant variants, and rare tumors, soft tissue pathology is one of the most challenging areas of surgical pathology. Focusing on the cutaneous soft tissue specimens and reactive mimics most likely to be encountered by pathologists and dermatopathologists, Diagnostic Atlas of Cutaneous Mesenchymal Neoplasia is a superbly illustrated, easy-to-use atlas designed to be used beside the microscope for efficient diagnosis and classification of soft tissue tumors of the skin. Features high-quality histologic and clinical images of multiple examples of each tumor, with captions and bulleted text for quick reference. Uses a high-yield format that facilitates a rapid and accurate diagnosis, including: Characteristic clinical setting Key morphologic features Immunohistochemical properties Molecular diagnostic testing (where applicable) Offers the most complete presentation available of this complex family of tumors, authored by renowned experts in dermatopathology. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Margin Control Surgery of the Skin: Concepts, Histopathology, and Applications by Patrick Emanuel; Mark Izzard, 2023 This first-of-its-kind multidisciplinary approach to margin control cutaneous surgery highlights practical concepts and provides copious illustrations and photos paired with text Outlining basic techniques for safe, effective surgery, Margin Control Surgery of the Skin explains how to handle common difficulties in completely excising common skin tumors, as well as more advanced cancers not usually dealt with by Mohs surgeons. The combination of illustrations, photographs, and concise text make complex topics easy to understand, and concepts are outlined in both traditional chapter format and case-based format so that practitioners will be engaged in a more practical context. Traditional chapters cover all technical aspects of the procedure and how these techniques are applied to the treatment of cutaneous malignancies.

McKee's Pathology of the Skin by J. Eduardo Calonje; Thomas Brenn; Alexander J. Lazar; Steven D. Billings, 2020 Comprehensive and lavishly illustrated, McKee's Pathology of the Skin, 5th Edition, is your reference of choice for up-to-date, authoritative information on dermatopathology. You'll find clinical guidance from internationally renowned experts along with details on etiology, pathogenesis, histopathology, and differential diagnosis - making this unique reference unparalleled in its wealth of clinical and histopathological material. The 5th Edition of this classic text is a must-have resource for practicing dermatopathologists and general pathologists who sign out skin biopsies. Covers pathological aspects of skin diseases in addition to providing superb descriptions and illustrations of their clinical manifestations - the only available reference with this unique combination of features. Integrates dermatopathology, clinical correlations, and clinical photographs throughout, and features bulleted lists of clinical features and differential diagnosis tables for easy reference. Contains more than 5,000 superb histopathologic and clinical illustrations that demonstrate the range of histologic manifestations. Brings you fully up to date with key molecular aspects of disease, the capabilities and limitations of molecular diagnostics, and targeted/personalized medicine. Features up-to-date information on biologics, drug eruptions, and other developments in therapeutics. Helps you stay current with the latest diagnostic tumor markers and other new developments in immunohistochemistry. Includes a completely revised chapter on cutaneous lymphoma that reflects recent WHO-EORTC classification changes, as well as new coverage of sentinel lymph node biopsy for melanoma. Shares the knowledge of the main editor Dr. J. Eduardo Calonje, along with co-editors Thomas Brenn, and Alexander Lazar, and new co-editor Steven D. Billings who offers expertise on both dermatopathology and soft tissue tumors. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Pathology of Melanocytic Tumors by Klaus J. Busam; Pedram Gerami; Richard A. Scolyer, 2019 Constituting a large percentage of everyday diagnostic practice, melanocytic pathology is a complex and challenging area with many difficult-to-diagnose lesions. This highly illustrated reference, written by three of the world's leading dermatopathologists, provides authoritative guidance in the accurate diagnosis of even the most challenging pigmented skin tumors, helping you avoid pitfalls and recognize mimics. Covers nearly every variant of melanocytic tumors you're likely to see. Emphasizes how to arrive at an efficient, accurate diagnosis, and includes dermoscopic findings for optimal diagnostic precision. Discusses modern analytic techniques (cytogenetics, molecular studies) and how to use them for diagnosis. Includes numerous case examples to illustrate the differential diagnoses and work-up; how to use ancillary techniques, along with their pros, cons, and limitations; and clinical follow-up. Presents the knowledge and experience of Klaus Busam, Pedram Gerami, and Richard Scolyer, - three dermatopathologists who are globally renowned for their expertise in melanoma pathology and analysis of melanocytic tumors by modern ancillary diagnostic techniques. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Practical Dermatopathology by Ronald P. Rapini, 2021 Written from the perspective of both the histopathologist and clinician, Practical Dermatopathology, 3rd Edition, allows you to search by disease or pathologic feature to quickly locate key criteria and a differential diagnosis. Practical and portable, Practical Dermatopathology is your ideal high-yield microscope companion! Make accurate, complete reports by fully understanding clinical correlations. Accurately diagnose a wide range of conditions using nearly 800 full-color illustrations, with leader lines pointing out key pathologic and clinical features as they would be seen in daily practice. Find critical information quickly through extensive cross-referencing of differential diagnosis lists by finding and disease. Clinical lists are based on location, symptoms, duration, arrangement, morphology, and color. Pathologic lists include major categories such as epidermal changes, dermal changes, and cell types. Gauge your mastery of the material with online multiple-choice review questions (130 are NEW) that provide an ideal study resource for board review or recertification. Stay current with comprehensive updates throughout, as well as unique differential diagnosis lists, numerous tables and boxes, full-color histology images, and supporting clinical photographs including bonus clinical correlation images online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Weedon’s Skin Pathology, 6th ed. by James W. Patterson; Gregory A. Hosler; Karyn L. Prenshqw, 2025 Weedon’s Skin Pathology, 6th edition ! It has been a privilege for me to work on this volume. It has been both an educational and inspirational experience: educational, because the quantity and quality of new information in the field have been astounding; inspirational, because the new discoveries have come from all corners of the world—and all with the goals of developing a better understanding of cutaneous disease and improving the quality of life for our patients. Though some of this work may not seem to have a direct effect on diagnostic histopathology (yet), all of it, sooner or later, in one way or another, will have an impact, and mostly for the good. Though there is much new information in the basic sciences that form the bedrock for our specialty and are an important part of this book, the emphasis continues to be on practical histopathology—still often the “gold standard” for determining the diagnosis of cutaneous diseases and providing guidance for their subsequent evaluation and management. Differential diagnosis has been a focus, information on dermoscopy and confocal laser microscopy has again been included, and a number of new figures have been added.

Weedon's Skin Pathology Essentials by Ronald Johnston, 2024 Comprehensive, concise, and superbly illustrated, Weedon's Skin Pathology Essentials, 3rd Edition, provides expert, easy-to-read guidance on key diagnoses in dermatopathology for pathologists and dermatologists in practice and training. This clearly written, well-structured text/atlas is ideal for quickly looking up practical problems in the recognition and diagnosis of skin lesions both clinically and histologically. Cross-referenced to the encyclopedic and authoritative Weedon's Skin Pathology, 5th Edition, it enables you to avoid pitfalls and make the most accurate diagnoses with confidence. Covers more than 1,300 dermatopathological entities, both common and rare, including additional entries in every section of the text. Provides more than 3,000 color histopathologic and clinical images for complete visual coverage of key diagnostic points for any given entity, and features new illustrations of rare conditions and unusual manifestations. Includes numerous summary tables and diagnostic algorithms that guide you to the most likely diagnosis and set of differential diagnoses for numerous inflammatory and neoplastic skin conditions. Discusses the latest immunohistochemical staining techniques and molecular genetic techniques. Uses a highly templated, bulleted, outline format throughout, facilitating quick and easy retrieval of key information. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.