Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chestnut’s Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice by Comprehensive, user-friendly, and up to date, Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes. An expert editorial team ensures that this edition remains a must-have resource for obstetric anesthesiologists and obstetricians, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiology assistants, and anesthesiology and obstetric residents and students. Presents the latest information on anesthesia techniques for labor and delivery and medical disorders that occur during pregnancy, emphasizing the treatment of the fetus and the mother as separate patients with distinct needs. Contains new chapters on shared decision-making in obstetric anesthesia and chronic pain during and after pregnancy. Features extensive revisions from cover to cover, including consolidated information on maternal infection and postoperative analgesia. Covers key topics such as neonatal assessment and resuscitation, pharmacology during pregnancy and lactation, use of nitrous oxide for labor analgesia, programmed intermittent epidural bolus (PIEB) technique, epidural analgesia-associated fever, the role of gastric ultrasonography to assess the risk of aspiration, sugammadex in obstetric anesthesia, the role of video laryngoscopy and new supraglottic airway devices, spinal dysraphism, and cardiac arrest in obstetric patients. Incorporates the latest guidelines on congenital heart disease and the management of sepsis, as well as difficult airway guidelines that are specific to obstetric anesthesia practice. Offers abundant figures, tables, and boxes that illustrate the step-by-step management of a full range of clinical scenarios. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RG732 .C44 2020
The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project: A Framework for Success by The Doctor of Nursing Practice Project, A Framework for Success, Third Edition guides students and faculty in the DNP project process. With a primary focus on delivering key information on planning, implementing, and evaluating a project, the text also emphasizes the impact that DNP-prepared nurses and well-developed DNP projects have in shaping the future of nursing. The Third Edition focuses on the evolution of the DNP degree by featuring AACN taskforce updates and reorganized content about the clinical scholar and practice scholarship. With chapters devoted to formulating a meaningful DNP project, from selecting appropriate project team members to the importance of communicating and disseminating the results of the project appropriately, it serves as a comprehensive guide for students and faculty alike. New to the Third Edition: * Updated historical perspectives * Overview of project variability * Coverage of project sustainability and measures of impact * New chapter on health policy, how policies impact practice, and how the DNP nursing role relates to advocacy * Navigate 2 Essentials Package features digital templates of the project tools
Call Number: RT75 .M67 2020
Faust's Anesthesiology Review by Authored by current and former physicians at the Mayo Clinic, Faust's Anesthesiology Review, 5th Edition, combines comprehensive coverage of essential anesthesiology knowledge with an easy-to-use format, reflecting the latest advances in the field. This outstanding review tool offers concise content on everything needed for certification, recertification, or as a refresher for anesthesiology practice, covering a broad range of important and timely topics. Save valuable time with this trusted resource as you master the latest advances, procedures, guidelines, and protocols in anesthesiology. Provides in-depth, yet succinct clinical synopses of all topic areas found on the ABA/ASA exam, with the perfect amount of information to ensure exam success. Contains 28 new chapters, including Blood Product Conservation, Tranexamic Acid Use in Orthopedic Surgery, Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation, Cardiovascular Opioids, Anesthesia for Patients with Rheumatoid Arthritis, Neurointerventional Anesthesiology, and the Perioperative Surgical Home. Features a new chapter on Sugammadex, the neuromuscular reversal drug that is changing anesthesia practice; a new chapter on Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) protocols; and up-to-date information on opioid dependence. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RD82.3 .A53 2020
Gray's Anatomy for Students by Easy to read, superbly illustrated, and clinically relevant, Gray's Anatomy for Students, 4th Edition, is medical students' go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia tools that facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors and global advisors share their extensive teaching and clinical experience, highlighted by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations throughout the text. Helps students understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Presents anatomy logically by body region, and now offers bonus eBook chapters for each major body system to facilitate learning from a different perspective - covering the Cardiovascular System, Respiratory System, Gastrointestinal System, Urogenital System, Lymphatic System, and Nervous System. Features an all-new eBook chapter covering the essentials of neuroanatomy, so readers can learn key aspects of this challenging topic in the context of general anatomy. Offers new schematic drawings for key structures and topics in every chapter, providing an additional, simplified approach to introduce each topic-ideal for quick initial understanding and as a guide for students' own anatomy drawings. Includes new and improved online materials such as self-assessment questions, clinical cases, an Interactive Surface Anatomy tool, an online anatomy and embryology self-study course, and more. Provides fully revised and updated clinical content including numerous new In the Clinic boxes, plus new clinical cases, images, and correlates throughout. Enables readers to quickly review the basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. Includes an Enhanced eBook version with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: QM23.2 .D73 2020
Moderate Procedural Sedation and Analgesia: A Question and Answer Approach by Introducing the definitive resource designed for practitioners working in the rapidly expanding area of moderate procedural sedation and analgesia clinical practice. Moderate Procedural Sedation and Analgesia: A Question and Answer Approach focuses on the preprocedural, procedural, and postprocedural care of the moderately sedated patient in a variety of settings. This comprehensive text is designed to provide all the content and tools nurses and other clinicians need to demonstrate competency in moderate sedation and analgesia. Additionally, this user-friendly text is written by well-known sedation/analgesia expert, Michael Kost and recommended by standards of practice from the ANA, AORN, and the American Academy of Pediatrics. New clinically focused text ensures clinicians involved in the administration and management of patients receiving moderate sedation have access to the most up-to-date information. Strong safety focus throughout the book explains how technology and clinician practice can improve sedation administration. Chapters organized in clinical problem/question plus answer format help you easily comprehend material. Follows the latest TJC Sedation/Anesthesia Guidelines ensuring you are ready for medication administration in clinical practice. Pediatrics and Geriatrics chapters cover specific sedation practice recommendations that address the substantive clinical practice challenges associated with these patient populations. Pharmacologic profiles of medications detail their use in the moderate sedation practice setting.
Call Number: RD85.C64 K67 2020
Oxford Textbook of Neuroscience and Anaesthesiology by The perioperative care of individuals with neurologic compromise is critically important, yet it is only one dimension of the rich relationship between anaesthesiology and the neurosciences. The mechanism of everyday therapeutic interventions such as anaesthesia and analgesia is exciting neuroscience in its own right. At the new frontier of outcomes studies lies the question of how the perioperative period might impact the brain. For example, questions related to anaesthetic neurotoxicity, delirium, and cognitive dysfunction pose critical challenges for the field. The Oxford Textbook in Neuroscience and Anaesthesiology addresses the exciting field of neuroanaesthesiology in a new and stimulating way. In twenty eight chapters, the neuroscientific basis of anaesthesiology, the full spectrum of clinical neuroanaesthesia, and the care of neurologic patients undergoing non-neurologic surgery are explored in one comprehensive textbook for the first time. The first section considers the neural mechanisms of general anaesthetics, cerebral physiology, the neurobiology of pain, and more. The second section explores the care of patients with neurologic disease in the operating room or intensive care unit. These clinical chapters systematically treat the perioperative considerations of both brain and spine surgery, and provide introductions to neurocritical care and pediatric neuroanaesthesia. The final section outlines the care of neurologic patients undergoing non-neurologic surgery. It examines key connections of neurology and anaesthesiology, examining how conditions such as dementia, stroke, or epilepsy interface with the perioperative period. Each chapter has been carefully crafted to be concise yet highly informative, reflecting the cutting edge of neuroscience and neuroanaesthesiology. This international textbook gathers the best available expertise of authors and leaders worldwide. Includes access to online-only content, including more than 20 cases and more than 90 questions that can be used in presentations and teaching sessions. By activating your unique access code, you can access and use the material.
Call Number: RD593 .O94 2019x
Practice-Based Scholarly Inquiry and the DNP Project by Praise for the First Edition: "This wonderful and informative resource provides a definitive base of information for those engaged in clinical inquiry. It not only presents the information in a systematic format, it also provides specific examples of projects that have been completed by advanced practice nurses." Score 100, 5 Stars -Doody's Medical Reviews This one-of-a-kind resource is specifically designed to guide DNP students in the essentials of conducting practice-based studies. It demystifies the process by helping students to identify the methodology that best fits their project idea, envision the key elements of the project, design, set up, and run the project, and write up and disseminate the project outcome. In addition to being substantially updated throughout, the second edition includes four new chapters and reflects current literature, with updated references and suggested readings. Additionally, each chapter concludes with a Discussion Guide to assist faculty in pinpointing key points within the chapter. The only book to address the complexities of clinical inquiry from a practice perspective rather than research perspective. The book builds on basic research concepts that, combined with the knowledge and experience gained by the APRN student, facilitate an in-depth understanding of how clinical research differs from traditional quantitative research. Packed with practical steps and tools, the book fosters the development of such skills as finding data, and reading, critiquing, and translating research to support evidenced-based practice within the health care system, either with a specific population, or for policy development. The text is based on the Scholarship of Integration and Application, one of the core DNP competencies, and is organized to build from simple to greater complexity. Each chapter features learning objectives, learning activities, and review questions. New to the Second Edition: Substantially updates all chaptersIncludes four new chapters: The DNP Project, Finding and Critiquing the Best Evidence, Descriptive Projects, and Disseminating ResultsNew content reflects current literatureOffers updated references and suggested readingsChapters conclude with a Discussion Guide to aid faculty and students to identify and explore key points Key Features: Delivers clear, essential guidance for clinical inquiry and research used to demonstrate practice outcomesWritten by an esteemed educator highly experienced in teaching clinical inquiryIllustrates the application of "Scholarship of Integration and Application", a core competency for the DNPGuides readers in DNP student program/project design and evaluationPresents content systematically from simple to complex
Call Number: RT81.5 .S36 2019
Succeeding in Literature Reviews and Research Project Plans for Nursing Students by Succeeding in Literature Reviews and Research Project Plans for Nursing Students is a practical and readable guide that shows readers how to successfully complete a research project plan or literature review as part of their final year assessment. It guides readers through all of the necessary stages from start to finish, beginning with preparation and planning, using and critiquing research, and finally writing up and completing their project. The authors also explore the crucial challenge of translating evidence into practice and how this can lead to improved decision-making, better practice, and improved services.
Call Number: RT81.5 .W493 2017x