Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACSM's Clinical Exercise Physiology by ACSM's Clinical Exercise Physiology adapts and expands upon the disease-related content from ACSM's Resource Manual for Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 7th Edition, to create a true classroom textbook. This new resource offers research-based coverage of more than 35 conditions commonly seen in practice--from a host of cardiovascular disorders to immunological/hematological disorders. Condition chapters are organized by disease types and then divided into sections that cover specific conditions from a pathological and etiological perspective. To provide a complete view of clinical exercise physiology, the book also covers important considerations and foundational elements, such as screening, pharmacology, and electrocardiography. As an American College of Sports Medicine publication, the text offers the unsurpassed quality and excellence that has become synonymous with titles by the leading exercise science organization in the world. eBook available. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and much more. Complete alignment with the latest ACSM's Guidelines ensures focused coverage of all essential topics. Evidenced-based coverage of over 35 conditions provides the most extensive coverage of diseases available for the course. A standard format in the conditions chapters (introduction, condition, pathology, clinical applications, case study, summary, and comorbidities case studies) makes specific information easy to find. A chapter on exercise genomics provides an overview of this new field and its potential clinical applications, while a separate chapter on electrocardiography provides a solid foundation for those who need to read and interpret EKGs. Special considerations beyond the conditions, such as comorbidities, the exercise environment, legal considerations, lifespan considerations, pharmacology, etc.) ensure complete coverage of clinical exercise physiology. In-text learning aids, including chapter-opening summaries and learning objectives, end-of-chapter review questions and case studies with questions for classroom discussion, help students prepare for practice.
Call Number: RC1201 .A27 2019
Applied Biomechanics: Concepts and Connections by Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Written for undergraduate biomechanics courses, Applied Biomechanics: Concepts and Connections, Second Edition is a comprehensive resource that focuses on making connections between biomechanics and other subdisciplines of exercise science. With that in mind, each chapter contains a Concepts section and a Connections section. The Concepts are the core nuts and bolts of understanding the mechanics of movement. The Connections are designed to show how the Concepts are used in the many diverse areas within the movement sciences. The Second Edition was written to meet the needs of students who aspire to any field of human movement or performance, making the concepts of biomechanics relevant no matter their ultimate choice of profession. Key Features: NEW - A new end-of-text Student Workbook provides additional problems that are ideal for homework assignments, study aids, and in-class exercises. PDF pages also available on Navigate 2. NEW - Includes a wealth of new and updated artwork, illustrations and graphs. UPDATED - Focus on Research feature boxes, and examples throughout the text have been updated to keep pace with changes in the field since the previous edition. UPDATED - Chapter 12, Connections by Application, is meant to apply all of the biomechanical concepts using a single sport and has been updated to reference soccer in all applications.
Call Number: QH513 .M383 2020
Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation by Packed with practical, up-to-date guidance, Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 4th Edition, by Walter R. Frontera, MD, PhD; Julie K. Silver, MD; and Thomas D. Rizzo, Jr., MD, helps you prevent, diagnose, and treat a wide range of musculoskeletal disorders, pain syndromes, and chronic disabling conditions in day-to-day patient care. This easy-to-use reference provides the information you need to improve patient function and performance by using both traditional and cutting-edge therapies, designing effective treatment plans, and working with interdisciplinary teams that meet your patients' current and changing needs. An easy-to-navigate format provides quick access to concise, well-illustrated coverage of every essential topic in the field. Presents each topic in a consistent, quick-reference format that includes a description of the condition, discussion of symptoms, examination findings, functional limitations, and diagnostic testing. An extensive treatment section covers initial therapies, rehabilitation interventions, procedures, and surgery. Contains new technology sections in every treatment area where recently developed technologies or devices have been added to the therapeutic and rehabilitation strategies, including robotic exoskeletons, wearable sensors, and more. Provides extensive coverage of hot topics in regenerative medicine, such as stem cells and platelet rich plasma (PRP), as well as a new chapter on abdominal wall pain. Delivers the knowledge and insights of several new, expert authors for innovative perspectives in challenging areas. Offers a clinically-focused, affordable, and focused reference for busy clinicians, as well as residents in need of a more accessible and targeted resource. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RM700 .E84 2019
Fundamentals of Tests and Measures for the Physical Therapist Assistant by Fundamentals of Tests and Measures for the Physical Therapist Assistant provides students with the tools required to interpret the physical therapy evaluation and replicate the measurements and tests. This text guides students in learning how to utilize case information and documentation furnished by the PT to assist in the follow-up treatment. Key Features Include: - Relevant anatomy and terminology review - Comprehensive coverage of tests and measures arranged by system - Pertinent documentation examples - Excellent photographs and graphics - Easy-to-understand descriptions and explanations
Call Number: RM725 .F78 2019
Instant Notes in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics by This is the clearest and most straightforward biomechanics textbook currently available. By breaking down the challenging subject of sport and exercise biomechanics into short thematic sections, it enables students to grasp each topic quickly and easily, and provides lecturers with a flexible resource that they can use to support any introductory course on biomechanics. The book contains a wealth of useful features for teaching and learning, including clear definitions of key terms, lots of applied examples, guides to further reading, and revision questions with worked solutions. It has been significantly expanded to encompass rapidly developing areas, such as sports equipment design and modern optoelectronic motion analysis systems, and it includes a number of new sections that further develop the application of biomechanics in sports performance and injury prevention. A new companion website includes a test bank, downloadable illustrations and, where appropriate, suggestions for learning outcomes and/or lab-based sessions for lecturers. Instant Notes in Sport and Exercise Biomechanics has been an invaluable course companion for thousands of students and lecturers over the last decade. Engaging, direct, and now fully refreshed, it is the only biomechanics textbook you¿ll ever need.
Call Number: QP303 .G755 2019
Joint Structure and Function: A Comprehensive Analysis by Text Focuses on normal structure and function rather than specific patient problems to show how deviations from normal may create or underlie dysfunction. Prepares students to evaluate and treat human movement disorders with lucid discussions of biomechanics, joint structure, connective tissue behavior, and muscle physiology. Features an evidence-based approach that applies current research to the challenges of daily practice. Clarifies key information with more than 800 photographs, radiographs, scans, and illustrations. Emphasizes the practical application of kinesiologic principles--and the close link between normal and disordered musculoskeletal function--with patient case studies at the beginning each chapter and case applications throughout the text. Highlights key points with "Concept Cornerstone" boxes and periodic summaries. Promotes critical thinking on controversial topics through "Continuing Exploration" boxes. Offers 'Study Questions' at the end of each chapter. Kinesiology in Action Integrated eBook--Joint Structure & Function text in an easy-to-use, online format lets you do all your course reading and lessons online. Ten modules or lessons that each feature two pre-tests, practice activities, text and audio generation activities, and a post-test. High-quality videos that demonstrate the major concepts in each module. Discussion forums that provide opportunities to collaborate with your classmates. Gradebook that lets you tracks your progress every step of the way, so you'll know exactly how you're doing in the course. It also shows where you need to focus your studies until you've mastered the concepts and are ready to apply them in class and lab.
Call Number: QP303 .N59 2019
Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Colour Text by Now fully revised and updated, this leading ICT series volume offers concise, superbly illustrated coverage of neuroanatomy, that throughout makes clear the relevance of the anatomy to the practice of modern clinical neurology. Building on the success of previous editions, Neuroanatomy ICT, sixth edition has been fine-tuned to meet the needs of today's medical students - and will also prove invaluable to the range of other students and professionals who need a clear, current understanding of this important area. Generations of readers have come to appreciate the straightforward explanations of complex concepts that students often find difficult, with minimum assumptions made of prior knowledge of the subject. This (print) edition comes with the complete, enhanced eBook - including BONUS figures and self-assessment material - to provide an even richer learning experience and easy anytime, anywhere access! Notoriously difficult concepts made clear in straightforward and concise text Level of detail carefully judged to facilitate understanding of the fundamental neuroanatomical principles and the workings of the nervous system, providing a sound basis for the diagnosis and treatment of contemporary neurological disorders Clinical material and topic summaries fully updated and highlighted in succinct boxes within the text Memorable pictorial summaries of symptoms associated with the main clinical syndromes Over 150 new or revised drawings and photographs further improve clarity and reflect the latest imaging techniques New expanded coverage of neuropsychological disorders and their relationship to neuroanatomy - increasingly important given aging populations Access to the complete, enhanced eBook - including additional images and self-assessment material to aid revision and check your understanding.
Call Number: QM451 .C74 2020
Neuromuscular Disorders: A Comprehensive Review with Illustrative Cases by This book provides a concise overview of the diagnosis and therapy of a wide variety of neuromuscular disorders, in tabulated form and with illustrative cases. Treating neuromuscular disorders calls for a sound, step-by-step clinical approach based on differential diagnosis and laboratory investigations. Yet to date, there has been no single, compact book that offers all the relevant information related to the management of these disorders. This book fills that gap, presenting the state of the art in the field and addressing practical problems together with their solutions. Each chapter covers disorder characteristics, clinical differentiating points, relevant investigations and their interpretation, available genetic testing, best management approaches and counselling. Illustrative cases provide valuable insights, while extensive tables and illustrations mean that information can be rapidly found.
Call Number: RC925 .K54 2018
Psychosocial Elements of Physical Therapy: The Connection of Body to Mind by Physical therapists know that their patients are more than just a list of symptoms. They are people first, often with a complex mix of medical and psychiatric circumstances, who may receive a wide range of care from a team of professionals. Keeping this in mind, Psychosocial Elements of Physical Therapy: The Connection of Body to Mind is both a textbook and a clinical resource for physical therapist students and clinicians practicing in any patient population with psychological concerns or disorders. Inside, Dr. Hannah Johnson provides an essential introduction of psychosocial concepts, general treatment approaches for culturally sensitive care, and selected classes of mental illness as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition (DSM-5). A complete review of the current research and evidence base provides students a strong foundation to build their careers on, but can also act as a crash-course in the most recent literature for the busy clinician. Features: Clear, concise language and layout for efficient learning Application-based review questions Real world case studies to apply critical thinking skills Evidence-based practical tests and measures Vocabulary terms that facilitate interdisciplinary teamwork Psychosocial Elements of Physical Therapy: The Connection of Body to Mind provides physical therapist students and clinicians with an efficient yet comprehensive guide to helping patients with psychological concerns or disorders.
Call Number: RM701 .J64 2019
Rockwood and Green's Fractures in Adults by This exhaustive reference includes new chapters and pedagogical features, as well as--for the first time--content on managing fragility factures. To facilitate fast, easy absorption of the material, this edition has been streamlined and now includes more tables, charts, and treatment algorithms than ever before. Experts in their field share their experiences and offer insights and guidance on the latest technical developments for common orthopaedic procedures, including their preferred treatment options. New videos--accessible via the eBook--offering instruction and guidance on clinical procedures. New chapters on caring for obese patients, preoperative planning, and pain management. Deep-dive discussion and up-to-date content on how to manage fragility fractures. Easy-to-read tables outlining nonoperative treatments, adverse outcomes, and operative techniques. Time-saving preoperative planning checklists, as well as key steps for each surgical procedure. Potential pitfalls, preventive measures, and common adverse outcomes highlighted for all procedures. Numerous diagnostic and treatment algorithms for common orthopaedic procedures. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RD101 .F739 2020
Treatment of Cerebral Palsy and Motor Delay by Treatment of Cerebral Palsy and Motor Delay is a highly practical, easy-to-read resource for all paediatric practitioners and students working with the developmental abilities and difficulties of children, providing a thorough overview of cerebral palsy and its treatment. The sixth edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to integrate the latest evidence-base on motor control and motor learning, whilst still retaining Sophie Levitt's eclectic, holistic and functional approach. It includes greater detail on paediatric occupational therapy, classification systems, the latest systematic reviews of research, as well as an expanded chapter on adolescents and adults with cerebral palsy. The chapter on equipment has also been increased so as to be of further relevance to occupational therapists. Supported by clear diagrams and photographs, as well as summaries to consolidate learning, it outlines therapeutic approaches and suggests treatment and management options, providing a wealth of practical information. The book promotes positive relationships between therapists, people with cerebral palsy and their families.
Call Number: RJ496.C4 L43 2019
Wound Care Made Incredibly Visual! by Provide effective wound care with skill and confidence, with the expert direction and real-life images of the fully updated Wound Care Made Incredibly Visual!®, 3rd Edition. Let this colorfully illustrated text guide you through the fundamental concepts, skills, and treatments needed for positive wound care outcomes, including the latest products and procedures. Prepare to succeed in both the classroom and on the unit the enjoyable Incredibly Visual (tm) way, as clear explanations and plentiful images guide you through the vital steps of effective wound care. Grasp the basic concepts, skills, phases, and complications of wound care ... NEW and updated photos and graphics NEW and updated content on the latest wound care techniques and interventions Hundreds of colorful images that make the complexities of wound care easy to understand --detailed photos, charts, and drawings that explain and reinforce key concepts in easy-to-remember ways Clear, concise text that explains the fundamentals and latest advancements in wound care in clear, understandable terms Perfect for visual learners --numerous images that demonstrate skills and interventions, including: Skin anatomy and physiology--skin layers and their functions Wound healing--types of wound healing, healing phases, and complications Wound assessment--including recognizing failure to heal Effects of aging on wound healing Acute versus chronic wounds Pressure injuries Vascular ulcers Diabetic foot ulcers Malignant wounds Atypical wounds Wound care products Ideal on-the-spot reference and review for nursing students, new nurses, and other healthcare practitioners Excellent teaching aid--seasoned, step-by-step guidance backed by images that demonstrate everyday patient care situations Chapter features: Chapter content summary at the start of each chapter Q&A --End-of-chapter games and quizzes that reinforce learning points--multiple-choice or fill-in-the-blank questions, word games, and matching images to wound care concepts "Nurse Joy and Jake" --Expert insights and encouraging advice offered throughout Take note --illustrated interventions that demonstrate real-life patient scenarios About the Clinical Editor Patricia Albano Slachta, PhD, APRN, ACNS-BC, CWOCN, is President of the Nursing Educational Programs and Services in Ridgeland, South Carolina.
Call Number: RD93.95 .W69 2019