W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library
|
The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints. Library Catalog Borrowing Privileges Services
Loan Policies
|
Hours and Access
The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is located on the 15th floor of the Plummer Building.
Research access and tours are available Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm by appointment only. At least 24 hours notice is preferred.
Call or email for arrangements:
Emily Brown
507-284-3676
Upcoming Events
In 1889, at a pivotal moment in the history of medicine, two sons of a country doctor began practicing surgery in a new hospital in a small town in Minnesota. This film provides an insightful portrait of the Mayo brothers as they develop a new model of patient-centered healthcare, encourage ground-breaking research and advance the field of medical education. The renowned clinic they founded continues to serve people from around the world.
Enjoy a new Heritage Film followed by a panel discussion/Q & A with the scriptwriter and physician-historians from Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. They will discuss the film’s themes and answer your questions.
Panelists and Moderator:
Christopher Boes, M.D., Professor of Neurology and the History of Medicine
W. Bruce Fye, M.D., Emeritus Professor of Medicine and the History of Medicine
Tom Williams, Writer & Director
Axel Gumbel, Senior Communications Specialist
Tuesday, October 1st
5:30 p.m. CST, light buffet
6:00 p.m. CST, lecture begins
Leighton Auditorium, 2nd floor Siebens Building
Free and open to all
In-Person Attendance
RSVP by Tuesday, September 24th
Questions? Contact Emily Brown brown.emily@mayo.edu 507-284-3676
Please click the link below to join the webinar.
https://mc-meet.zoom.us/j/92822226645?pwd=OTVt M2lUOHlTT1VSaUtuZ2NNRGJwdz09
Passcode: 650410
Webinar ID: 928 2222 6645
An RSVP is not required to attend via Zoom.
In The Spotlight
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library on the WebGeneral Info, Biographical Searches, Iconographic Indices, Organizations, & finding Out-of-Print books.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library Subject GuideLinks to online resources for those interested in researching the History of Medicine.
- W. Bruce Fye Center for the History of MedicineThe official repository for archival materials relating to Mayo Clinic Rochester history. To search our archival holdings, please visit our online catalog (MAX)
- Mayo Clinic Arizona Historical UnitThe Historical Unit and Archive is the official repository for the collection, preservation, and access to historically valuable materials documenting the culture and development of Mayo Clinic in Arizona.
- Mayo Clinic Florida Historical UnitThe Historical Unit and Archives in Florida is the official repository for the collection, preservation, and access to historically valuable materials documenting the culture and development of Mayo Clinic in Florida.
- Mayo Clinic History & HeritageThis public-facing website honors the history, heritage and culture of Mayo Clinic with useful information and multimedia content.