Skip to Main Content
eBooks
Acute Care Surgery and Trauma : Evidence-Based Practice, 3rd ed. by Stephen M. Cohn, 2024
"Remember, the critical questions in the field of Surgery never change, just the answers!" J. Bradley Aust M.D. 1926-2010 Acute Care Surgery and Trauma: Evidence-Based Practice discusses important surgical management approaches and clinical decision-making based on scientific evidence found in the published literature.Updated and fully revised, this new edition continues to support clinicians by providing the most up-to-date information and evidence on which to base their decisions across a wide range of topics in acute care surgery and trauma, thus optimizing the decision-making process for the care of individual patients. What can be better for the busy clinician than having all the answers to complex questions extensively researched by experts in the field and readily available without requiring further intensive literature searches? Featuring chapters written by specialists in acute care, trauma, and emergency surgery, with extensive references throughout. The text features tables summarizing key evidence and clinical recommendations for quick reference and easy interpretation.
AOSpine Masters Series, Volume 5: Cervical Spine Trauma by Luiz Roberto Gomes Vialle; F. C. Öner; Alexander R. Vaccaro, 2015
Leading spinal trauma surgeons share their expertise on the cervical spine FOUR STARS from Doody's Star Ratings(tm) This fifth volume in the AOSpine Masters Series presents a detailed analysis of the essential aspects of managing the most common cervical spine injuries. World-renowned cervical spine experts discuss anatomy, biomechanics, patient evaluation, and critical steps in the decision-making process for the treatment of these complex injuries. Chapters include: Anatomy of the Cervical Spine, Nonoperative Management of Cervical Spine Trauma, and Subaxial Cervical Spine Injuries. Key Features: Each chapter provides historic literature as well as a synthesized analysis of current literature and proposes an evidence-based treatment plan Editors are international authorities on the management of cervical spine injuries Expert tips and pearls included in every chapter The AOSpine Masters Series, a co-publication of Thieme and AOSpine, a Clinical Division of the AO Foundation, addresses current clinical issues whereby international masters of spine share their expertise and recommendations on a particular topic. The goal of the series is to contribute to an evolving, dynamic model of an evidence-based medicine approach to spine care. All spine surgeons, orthopaedic surgeons, and neurosurgeons, along with residents and fellows in these areas, will find this book to be an excellent reference that they will consult often in their treatment of patients with cervical spine injuries.
AOSpine Masters Series, Volume 6: Thoracolumbar Spine Trauma by Luiz Roberto Gomes Vialle Carlo Bellabarba; Frank Kandziora, 2015
An expert reference on the thoracolumbar area of the spine FOUR STARS from Doody's Star Ratings(tm) This sixth volume in the AOSpine Masters Series provides expert guidance on making an accurate diagnosis and classification of injuries to the thoracolumbar area of the spine. Chapters include: Radiographic Assessment of Thoracolumbar Fractures, Posterior and Anterior MIS in TL Fractures, and Thoracolumbar Fracture Fixation in the Osteoporotic Patient. Key Features: Each chapter provides historic literature as well as a synthesized analysis of current literature and proposes an evidence-based treatment plan Editors are international authorities on thoracolumbar spine trauma Expert tips and pearls included in every chapter The AOSpine Masters Series, a co-publication of Thieme and AOSpine, a Clinical Division of the AO Foundation, addresses current clinical issues whereby international masters of spine share their expertise and recommendations on a particular topic. The goal of the series is to contribute to an evolving, dynamic model of an evidence-based medicine approach to spine care. All spine surgeons and orthopaedic surgeons, along with residents and fellows in these areas, will find this book to be an excellent reference that they will consult often in their treatment of patients with thoracolumbar spine injuries.
Cervical Trauma: Surgical Management, 1st ed. by Robert Heary, 2019
The definitive textbook on the management of cervical spine trauma from master spine surgeons! Understanding the clinical implications of cervical trauma requires thorough knowledge of the anatomy and physiology of the cervical spine. Cervical Trauma: Surgical Management by renowned spine surgeon Robert Heary and a cadre of prominent neurosurgical and orthopaedic spine experts is the most comprehensive, state-of-the-art resource available to date on this topic. The text begins with discussion of cervical anatomy and the pathophysiology of spinal cord injury (SCI), SCI classification systems, initial assessments in patients with cervical SCIs, and cranioskeletal traction, followed by injury-specific chapters. Classification systems and management protocols developed over the last 40 years have enabled spine surgeons to work collaboratively with specialists in trauma surgery and critical care to provide optimal management of SCIs and attain improved long-term patient outcomes. This book covers a full spectrum of trauma-related conditions impacting the cervical spine and multidisciplinary interventions including minimally invasive surgery, neurointerventional techniques, reconstructive therapy with bone grafts or alternative stabilization methods, evidence-based medications, and SCI rehab. Key Highlights Discussion of upper cervical injuries - from more prevalent trauma such as atlanto-occipital injuries, odontoid and hangman's fractures, and atlantoaxial subluxations - to uncommon injuries like atlantoaxial rotatory fixation Management of subaxial injuries in adults and children and cervical burst fractures Special topics including sport-related cervical spine injuries and return-to-play criteria, craniovertebral injuries in pediatric patients, and managing comorbidities such as congenital spinal stenosis and rheumatoid arthritis Pearls on handling potential complications and insightful guidance and rationales for choosing surgical interventions over conservative methods and vice versa Neurosurgical and orthopaedic residents, veteran spine surgeons, and allied healthcare practitioners who treat patients with traumatic cervical spine conditions will benefit from reading this outstanding resource, cover-to-cover. It also provides an ideal go-to reference to consult in the ER when patients present with cervical trauma. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Emergency Surgery of the Hand by Michel Merle; Gilles Dautel, 2017
The 4th edition of the globally bestselling Chirurgie de la Main is made available to the English-speaking population for the first time in Emergency Surgery of the Hand. The text synthesizes the most current knowledge in hand surgery, emergency, and surgical principles for today's surgeons and fellows. Edited by internationally recognized experts Michel Merle and Gilles Dautel, Emergency Surgery of the Hand includes an abundance of illustrations, photographs, and step-by-step descriptions to ensure the best possible outcomes for each unique patient scenario. Provides coverage of today's hot topics in hand surgery, including free tissue transfer and pedicle flaps, as well as emergency care of infections. Prioritizes surgical techniques that allow rapid return to work. Covers the latest information on surgical principles, relevant anatomy and physiology, surgical techniques, outcomes and rehabilitation. Step-by-step descriptions of surgical procedures are enhanced by crisp, clear surgical photographs and illustrations. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Fracture Management for Primary Care and Emergency Medicine by M. Patrice Eiff; Robert L. Hatch, 2020
Evaluate and treat common fractures and know when to refer uncommon ones to a specialist. This quick, practical resource presents detailed illustrations, video, and current best evidence for imaging and treating fractures so you can make accurate identifications and manage patients with confidence. Quickly find the information you need through a systematic, logical approach to each fracture. Accurately identify fractures through an extensive selection of imaging examples. Apply splints and reduce dislocations successfully thanks to detailed descriptions, illustrations, and narrated video. Tap into the latest best practices through evidence-based coverage and updated references. Effectively manage emergency situations using guidelines for emergent referral, greater detail regarding methods for closed reductions for fractures and dislocations, and more. Benefit from expanded content specifically for the emergency medicine setting, including CT, MRI, and ultrasound imaging, procedural sedation, and discharge reassessment. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Green's Skeletal Trauma in Children by Gregory A. Mencio, 2020
Long considered the "go-to" reference for orthopaedic trauma surgeons and pediatric orthopaedic trauma surgeons, Green's Skeletal Trauma in Children provides comprehensive, practical guidance on the management of traumatic musculoskeletal injuries in children and adolescents. The fully revised 6th Edition covers the latest techniques, procedures, outcomes measures, pearls and pitfalls, and rehabilitation advice for the modern management and understanding of skeletal trauma in children - all provided by "who's who" list of pediatric orthopaedic trauma experts. Includes updated, evidence-based information on the impact of trauma to the immature and growing skeleton with comprehensive coverage of incidence, mechanisms of injury, classifications, and treatment options and complications for fractures in all major anatomical regions. Employs a new succinct and clear format that emphasizes need-to-know material. Features practical, step-by-step videos online. Includes hundreds of high-quality line drawings, diagnostic images, and full-color clinical photos that facilitate learning and understanding of complex material. Includes separate chapters on key topics such as Nerve Injury and Repair in Children, Skeletal Trauma in Young Athletes, Nonaccidental Trauma, Anesthesia and Analgesia, and Rehabilitation of the Child with Multiple Injuries. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Hand Trauma: Illustrated Surgical Guide of Core Procedures by Dariush Nikkhah, 2018
Your Helping Hand in Getting Started with the Surgical Treatment of Hand Trauma Surgical treatment of hand trauma is a highly complex form of surgery that requires mastery of several different disciplines, including microsurgery of blood vessels less than 1 mm in diameter, osteosynthesis, and flap coverage of traumatic defects. Combining these disciplines into an effective surgical repertoire requires no little creativity. This work intends to provide clear, practical guidance to the less experienced so that they gain confidence in carrying out the core procedures involved in the surgical management of hand trauma. Key Features: Stepwise, concise descriptions of all core procedures, highly and helpfully illustrated Procedures and topics covered include: nailbed repair, infections of the hand, flexor and extensor tendon repair, EIP to EPL tendon transfer, digital nerve repair, replantation and revascularization, fracture fixation techniques, limb threatening emergencies, and more A wealth of useful tips and tricks, for trainees by trainees Nikkhah's Hand Trauma: Illustrated Surgical Guide of Core Procedures is certain to be treasured as an indispensable resource for trainees in plastic, orthopaedic, and hand surgery.
Operative Techniques: Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery by Emil Schemitsch; Michael D. McKee, 2020
Part of the practical, highly illustrated Operative Techniques series, this fully revised book from Drs. Emil H. Schemitsch and Michael D. McKee brings you up to speed with must-know surgical techniques in today's technically demanding orthopaedic trauma surgery. Step-by-step, evidence-based guidance walks you through both common and unique cases you're likely to see in your practice, including upper extremity, lower extremity, spine, pelvis, and acetabulum trauma. Practical features such as pearls of wisdom, key points, and potential pitfalls detailed by the authors in order to successfully manage patients with complex fracture patterns have all been reinforced in this new edition. Includes all-new chapters on Acromioclavicular Joint Injuries, Sternoclavicular Joint Open Reduction and Internal Fixation, Intramedullary Fixation of Clavicle Shaft Fractures, Use of the Reamer Irrigator Aspirator (RIA) for Bone Graft Harvesting, Fractures of the Posterior Tibial Plateau, Reverse Total Shoulder Arthroplasty for Proximal Humerus Fractures, and many more. Features high-quality line drawings, diagnostic and intraoperative images, and radiographs alongside expert technical guidance on instrumentation, placement, step-by-step instructions and more - all supported by best evidence. Includes practical videos online to support visual understanding and implementation into practice. A bulleted, highly templated format allows for quick understanding of surgical techniques. Outlines positioning, exposures, instrumentation, and implants to equip you to be more thoroughly prepared for every procedure. Offers post-operative management guidelines and discussions of expected outcomes to help you avoid mistakes and offer quality, patient-focused care. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing: an Evidence-Based Approach to Musculoskeletal Care, 2nd ed. by Sonya Clarke; Mary Drozd, 2023
Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing A comprehensive and evidence-based manual for orthopaedic and trauma nurses and students In the newly revised second edition of Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing: An Evidence-based Approach to Musculoskeletal Care, a team of accomplished practitioners and educators deliver a straightforward and practical textbook for the practice of neonate, infant, child, young person, adult and older person orthopaedic and trauma nursing. The book explores topics of critical importance to those working in acute wards, clinics, community hospitals, nursing homes, and patients' homes. Divided into 5 intuitive sections, this book examines central issues in orthopaedic and musculoskeletal trauma care, specialist practice issues, the care and management of common conditions, and the care of infants, children and young people. Each chapter is based on the latest research and offers practical guidance to practitioners around the world. The book also offers: Practical explorations of topics in specialist practice, including assessment, common musculoskeletal interventions, and complications of musculoskeletal conditions and trauma In-depth discussions of common orthopaedic conditions and their management and care, including elective orthopaedic surgery Holistic musculoskeletal trauma care, including the principles of trauma and fracture management Perfect for pre-registration and qualified adult and children's orthopaedic nurses working in orthopaedic and musculoskeletal trauma units in hospitals and community settings, Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing will also be of use to students seeking post-qualification education in orthopaedic nursing.
Simon's Emergency Orthopedics, 8th ed. by Scott C. Sherman, 2019
The emergency physician's most trusted reference for handling orthopedic injuries and disorders in the ED A Doody's Core Title for 2022 Written by and for emergency physicians, Simon's Emergency Orthopedics is the leading reference for handling all types of musculoskeletal emergencies. This heavily illustrated, full-color resource focuses on radiographic diagnosis, acute management, and discharge of the patient with a pulled muscle, torn ligament, fracture, or other skeletal trauma. The format represents the ideal integration of text and images, allowing clinicians to actually see what they are reading about. The concise text tells readers everything they need to know about the mechanisms of action along with recommended imaging studies, treatment guidelines, and possible complications. FEATURES: Online videos demonstrate injections, arthrocentesis, reduction techniques, and more Provides authoritative, evidence-based information in a practical, clinically relevant manner The text is logically organized into four parts: Orthopedic Principles and Management, The Spine, Upper Extremities, and Lower Extremities Enhanced by more than 1,400 illustrations, including new photographs and radiographs Fractures are categorized according to degree of complexity, treatment modality, and prognosis The only fracture index of its kind helps clinicians rapidly navigate the text to find pertinent information Axioms throughout provide best practices for emergency care The Appendix describes and illustrates the steps involved in placing a particular type of splint
Skeletal Trauma: Basic Science, Management, and Reconstruction, 6th ed. by Bruce D. Browner; Jesse Jupiter; Christian Krettek et al, 2020
Offering expert, comprehensive guidance on the basic science, diagnosis, and treatment of acute musculoskeletal injuries and post-traumatic reconstructive problems, Skeletal Trauma, 6th Edition, brings you fully up to date with current approaches in this challenging specialty. This revised edition is designed to meet the needs of orthopaedic surgeons, residents, fellows, and traumatologists, as well as emergency physicians who treat patients with musculoskeletal trauma. International thought leaders incorporate the latest peer-reviewed literature, technological advances, and practical advice with the goal of optimizing patient outcomes for the full range of traumatic musculoskeletal injuries. Offers complete coverage of relevant anatomy and biomechanics, mechanisms of injury, diagnostic approaches, treatment options, and associated complications. Includes eight new chapters dedicated to advances in technology and addressing key problems and procedures, such as Initial Evaluation of the Spine in Trauma Patients, Management of Perioperative Pain Associated with Trauma and Surgery, Chronic Pain Management (fully addressing the opioid epidemic), Understanding and Treating Chronic Osteomyelitis, and more. Features a complimentary one-year subscription to OrthoEvidence, a global online platform that provides high-quality, peer-reviewed and timely orthopaedic evidence-based summaries of the latest and most relevant literature. Contains unique, critical information on mass casualty incidents and war injuries, with contributions from active duty military surgeons and physicians in collaboration with civilian authors to address injuries caused by road traffic, armed conflict, civil wars, and insurgencies throughout the world. Features important call out boxes summarizing key points, pearls and pitfalls, and outcomes. Provides access to nearly 130 instructional videos that demonstrate principles of care and outline detailed surgical procedures. Contains a wealth of high-quality illustrations, full-color photographs, and diagnostic images. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Skeletal Trauma of the Upper Extremity by Grant E. Garrigues; Marc J. Richard; Mark J. Gage, 2022
From the sternoclavicular joint to the distal phalanx, Skeletal Trauma of the Upper Extremity is a practical, one-volume resource covering all aspects of upper limb trauma and surgery. Comprehensive in scope, it features a multidisciplinary, step-by-step approach to evaluation and management, including concise background information and a detailed focus on practical points and surgical techniques. Written by global experts in traumatology, sports medicine, shoulder, elbow, and hand surgery, this richly illustrated guide brings you into the operating room with leaders in the field. Offers detailed, practical guidance from the originators and/or masters of each procedure, along with multiple, illustrated surgical technique descriptions. Includes pearls and pitfalls, preoperative evaluation and indications, surgical techniques, rehabilitation, and management of complications. Features tables and figures throughout that clearly demonstrate surgical tips and tricks. Identifies controversial topics and covers current challenges such as arthroscopic coracoclavicular/acromioclavicular joint reconstruction, reverse total shoulder arthroplasty for proximal humerus fracture, total elbow arthroplasty for fracture, interosseous membrane reconstruction of the forearm, and many more. Contains more than 500 high-quality illustrations, including anatomical and surgical illustrations, surgical photographs, ultrasounds, and x-rays. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
