Skip to Main Content
eBooks
Atlas of Emergency Neurovascular Imaging by Yang Tang,2020
Ischemic and hemorrhagic strokes are common neurological emergencies. In recent years, endovascular intervention has become a standard of care in treating acute ischemic stroke, aneurysms, and vascular malformations. As a result, noninvasive CT- and MRI-based techniques have been increasingly used in emergency settings. In this context, neurovascular imaging has become an essential part of the curriculum for training emergency radiologists, stroke neurologists, and vascular neurosurgeons. This book provides a comprehensive review of the entire spectrum of emergent neurovascular imaging, with the emphasis on noninvasive CT angiography (CTA), MR angiography (MRA), and perfusion techniques. It is organized into 11 chapters. The first three chapters address the topics of acute stroke imaging, including algorithms based on recent clinical trials and updated American Heart Association stroke guideline, vascular territories, and stroke mimics. These are followed by discussions of cerebrovenous thrombosis, vasculopathies, aneurysms, and vascular malformations. Remaining chapters are devoted to the traumatic neurovascular injury, as well as the relatively rare albeit important topics of head and neck vascular emergencies and spinal vascular diseases. The book has an image-rich format, including more than 300 selected CT, MRI, or digital subtraction angiography (DSA) images. Atlas of Emergency Neurovascular Imaging is an essential resource for physicians and related professionals, residents, and fellows in emergency medicine, neuroradiology, emergency imaging, neurology, and vascular neurosurgery and can successfully serve as a primary learning tool or a quick reference guide.
ISBN: 9783030436544
Atlas of Nuclear Cardiology, 5th edition by Vasken Dilsizian; Jagat Narula, 2021
The fifth edition of this book presents clinical data, image acquisition, and interpretation of nuclear cardiology procedures through high quality illustrative image examples. It includes up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of advances in instrumentation, radiotracers, protocols, and clinical studies. New content includes indications in imaging cardiac sarcoidosis, amyloidosis, and device infections as well as recent advances in instrumentation (Hybrid PET/MR). It also provides fresh chapters on the history of nuclear cardiology imaging, radionuclide handling techniques and radiation safety, PET-based myocardial perfusion imaging, and vascular imaging. The entire field is presented in pictographic form that is visually pleasing and conforming to current trends of medical education. The fifth edition of the Atlas of Nuclear Cardiology is an essential reference for cardiologists, radiologists, and nuclear medicine physicians interested in the latest approaches to noninvasive diagnostic cardiovascular nuclear imaging techniques. It also serves as a ready reference textbook for medical students and residents as well as nuclear physicists, nuclear medicine technologists, and radiopharmacists.
Basics of Comprehensive IVUS-Guided PCI by Junko Honye, 2023
This practical guidebook describes all aspects of the Intravascular Ultrasound (IVUS) for percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI), sharing many tips & tricks for the basic to advanced use of the technology in daily clinical practice. Chapters describe in detail how to interpret several IVUS findings to apply for PCI strategies, help readers understand the pathogenesis in different cases, as well as the mechanisms of PCI. Practical approaches to performing effective PCI will be discussed with case presentations. Chapters outline many practical topics such as reviewing the IVUS images demonstrating plaque characteristics. Also, a hot topic in stentless PCI, and a special section on the relationship between IVUS measurements and physiological assessments including fractional flow reserve (FFR). Basics of Comprehensive IVUS-Guided PCI is a book to be read by PCI operators, interventional fellows, and staff such as radiology technicians, clinical engineering technicians, and nurses in catheterization laboratories. It also attracts engineers and sales representatives working at medical companies who are curious about IVUS-guided PCI. The authors are experts of IVUS-guided PCI and they will broaden the understanding of the technology to entry level to intermediate operators.
Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance, 3rd. ed. by Warren J. Manning; Dudley J. Pennell, 2019
Written by an expert team of cardiologists, radiologists, and basic scientists, this third edition of Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance continues to bridge the divide among specialty areas in with cohesive presentation of this complex and fast-changing field. Offering comprehensive coverage of CMR and the latest cardiology applications, this practical reference enhances the understanding of cardiac physiology and the interpretation and diagnosis of cardiovascular disease. This is an ideal resource for cardiologists, cardiovascular and general radiologists, and anyone who needs up-to-date information on CMR's uses, benefits, and limitations in cardiovascular care. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of CMR technologies and guidelines, including basic principles, imaging techniques, ischemic heart disease, right ventricular and congenital heart disease, vascular and pericardium conditions, and functional cardiovascular disease. Includes new chapters on non-cardiac pathology, pacemaker safety, economics of CMR, and guidelines as well as new coverage of myocarditis and its diagnosis and assessment of prognosis by cardiovascular magnetic resonance, and the use of PET/CMR imaging of the heart, especially in sarcoidosis. Features more than 1,100 high-quality images representing today's CMR imaging. Covers T1, T2 and ECV mapping, as well as T2* imaging in iron overload, which has been shown to save lives in patients with thalassaemia major. Discusses the cost-effectiveness of CMR. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Echo Manual, 4th ed. by Jae K. Oh; Garvan C. Kane; James B. Seward et al, 2019
Ideal for residents, fellows, and others who need a comprehensive, clinically focused understanding of echocardiography, The Echo Manual, 4th Edition, has been thoroughly revised with updated information, new chapters, and new video clips online. Written primarily by expert authorities from the Mayo Clinic, this best-selling reference remains a practical guide to the performance, interpretation, and clinical applications of today's echocardiography. Features all-new chapters specifically devoted to 3D echo, interventional echocardiography, and hand-carried ultrasound. Includes new echo videos that provide a valuable learning experience of echocardiography in motion. Provides a concise, user-friendly summary of techniques, diagnostic criteria, and quantitative methods for echocardiography, Doppler echocardiography, and transesophageal echocardiography. Presents complex material in an approachable, visually appealing manner that focuses on the clinical application of echocardiography as a diagnostic tool. Covers the latest techniques, standards, and applications - all highlighted by more than 900 high-quality, annotated images that are true to gray scale and color. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Goldberger's Clinical Electrocardiography, 10th ed. by Ary L. Goldberger; Zachary D. Goldberger; Alexei Shvilkin, 2024
Ideal for trainees and practicing clinicians, Goldberger's Clinical Electrocardiography: A Simplified Approach, 10th Edition, covers the basics of ECG analysis and interpretation, as well as the differential diagnoses, underlying causes, and therapeutic implications of ECG findings. The authors' award-winning, systematic approach takes readers though the nuts and bolts of ECG interpretation. Beyond these essential details, the text serves as an invaluable and unique asset in hospital wards, outpatient clinics, emergency departments, and especially intensive and cardiac care units, where the recognition of normal and abnormal patterns is only the starting point in patient care. Offers practical, comprehensive coverage of real-world ECGs across a range of point-of-care settings, explaining not only how to interpret the data, but the implications of ECG findings for clinical management. Covers recent advances in pacemaker and implantable cardioverter-defibrillator technology; myocardial ischemia and infarction; arrhythmias, including atrial fibrillation, ventricular tachycardias and sudden cardiac arrest syndromes; drug toxicities; cardiac monitoring, including wearable devices; cardiomyopathies and COVID-19. Features nearly 300 high-quality illustrations, with an abundance of quick reference information highlights, including key pathophysiologic concepts, reminders, clinical pearls, and key points, as well as more than 250 review questions online. Discusses basic principles of electrophysiology in an easily understandable format for students and non-cardiologists. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Image-Guided Interventions by Kenneth R. Thomson; Matthew A. Mauro; Kieran P. J. Murphy et al, 2021
Completely revised to reflect recent, rapid changes in the field of interventional radiology (IR), Image-Guided Interventions, 3rd Edition, offers comprehensive, narrative coverage of vascular and nonvascular interventional imaging-ideal for IR subspecialists as well as residents and fellows in IR. This award-winning title provides clear guidance from global experts, helping you formulate effective treatment strategies, communicate with patients, avoid complications, and put today's newest technology to work in your practice. Offers step-by-step instructions on a comprehensive range of image-guided intervention techniques, including discussions of equipment, contrast agents, pharmacologic agents, antiplatelet agents, and classic signs, as well as detailed protocols, algorithms, and SIR guidelines. Includes new chapters on Patient Preparation, Prostate Artery Embolization, Management of Acute Aortic Syndrome, Percutaneous Arterial Venous Fistula Creation, Lymphatic Interventions, Spinal and Paraspinal Nerve Blocks, and more. Employs a newly streamlined format with shorter, more digestible chapters for quicker reference. Integrates new patient care and communication tips throughout to address recent changes in practice. Highlights indications and contraindications for interventional procedures, and provides tables listing the materials and instruments required for each. Features more than 2,300 state-of-the-art images demonstrating IR procedures, full-color illustrations of anatomical structures and landmarks, and video demonstrations online. 2014 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Radiology category! Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Introduction to Vascular Ultrasonography, 7th ed. by John S. Pellerito; Joseph F. Polak, 2020
Focused content, an easy-to-read writing style, and abundant illustrations make Introduction to Vascular Ultrasonography the definitive reference on arterial and venous ultrasound. Trusted by radiologists, interventional radiologists, vascular and interventional fellows, residents, and sonographers through six outstanding editions, the revised 7th Edition covers all aspects of ultrasound vascular diagnosis, including peripheral veins and arteries, carotid and vertebral arteries, abdominal vessels, and transcranial Doppler. Step-by-step explanations, all highly illustrated, walk you through the full spectrum of ultrasound sonography practice, including all that's new in this quickly evolving field. Organizes sections with quick reference in mind: clinical rationale, anatomy, examination technique, findings, and interpretation. Includes 2,100 clinical ultrasound images and anatomic line drawings, including over 1,000 in full color. Features new coverage of noninvasive image-guided procedures, robotic embolization, laser therapy, new Doppler ultrasound and color images, and guidance on promoting patient relationships. Takes a clear, readable, and practical approach to interventions and underlying rationales for a variety of complex IR principles, such as the physics of Doppler ultrasound and hemodynamics of blood flow. Contains extensive tables, charts, and graphs that clearly explain examination protocols, normal values, diagnostic parameters, and ultrasound findings. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Multimodal Imaging Atlas of Cardiac Masses by Azin Alizadehasl; Majid Maleki, 2023
Covering a broad range of topics with side-by-side radiographic image Multimodal Imaging Atlas of Cardiac Masses provides basic-to-advanced clinical tips on the use, clinical applications, and interpretation of cardiac imaging for cardiac masses. Written by a team of international experts in cardiac imaging, cardiac pathology, and cardiac surgery, this title features separate chapters on imaging modalities, anatomic pitfalls, cardiac thrombus, benign tumors, infectious lesions, and malignant tumors. This practical title is an essential guide for cardiologists, interventional cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, radiologists, and others to recognize the typical features of these uncommon conditions and to formulate team-based treatment plans for these complex patients. Covers multimodal cardiac imaging depicting all types of cardiac masses. Includes anatomic pitfalls, artifacts, differential diagnoses, and metastasis. Features 600 figures and 100 video clips of cardiac imaging, including echocardiography, CT, CMR, and PET, with photos of histopathologic findings and masses after surgery. Includes important clinical points on interpretation and differentiation of benign tumors, malignant tumors, and artifacts.
Multimodality Cardiovascular Imaging by Mario J. Garcia, 2025
Having witnessed the many remarkable advances in cardiovascular medicine over my professional career expanding for over three decades, I was fortunate to choose a discipline that connects all its key components. Imaging, without a doubt, has been essential to understanding the evolution of cardiovascular disease, guiding the development of novel therapeutic approaches, and tailoring the individualized approach to each patient in clinical practice.
Besides my interest in cardiovascular imaging, I have developed a passion for education. My approach to teaching has been shaped over my career through my experience training and practicing at great academic institutions where I have been exposed to very diverse groups of mentors and trainees. Over the last few years, as a member of the ABIM cardiovascular and the NBE exam committees, I also learned to recognize the many barriers to learning and gaps that exist in cardiovascular training and continuing education programs.
As a disclaimer, this textbook was not developed for an expert audience. That would be indeed a daunting task, given the exponential increase in the speed of discovery and innovation in cardiovascular imaging technologies and applications, and the time required to compile and edit the content of a single textbook. This book, on the other hand, constitutes a practical guide and intends to provide a solid foundation for general cardiologists and those who start their career in cardiovascular imaging or who want to expand their scope of practice from a single- to a multimodality approach. It also provides a guideline to providers in other subspecialties such as advanced heart failure, structural interventions, and electrophysiology, who are seeking to obtain a more in-depth understanding of cardiac imaging as it applies to their scope of practice.
Chapter 1 summarizes the key fundamental principles of imaging physics and instrumentation, covering ultrasound, nuclear scintigraphy, computed tomography, and magnetic resonance imaging. It also includes ECG exercise stress testing, an often underappreciated but important diagnostic procedure for the evaluation of symptoms with suspected cardiac etiology. Chapter 2 is dedicated to plain chest x-ray imaging, which is still also an essential tool for the evaluation of symptoms and for serial monitoring of disease progression. Chapter 3 is dedicated to cardiovascular imaging as it relates to preventive cardiology and cardiac risk assessment, whereas Chapter 4 provides guidance for a stepwise approach of the evaluation of signs and symptoms. Chapter 5 provides a comprehensive multimodality approach to the evaluation of cardiac function, relevant and common to most cardiovascular disease entities that are covered separately and in greater detail in Chapter 6, Chapter 7, Chapter 8, Chapter 9, Chapter 10, Chapter 11, Chapter 12, Chapter 13, Chapter 14 . Chapter 15 provides a description of common incidental findings that a cardiac imaging specialist without dedicated training in radiological imaging must be able to recognize.
Finally, Chapter 16 compiles 13 cases that demonstrate the application of non-invasive diagnostic modalities to establish a final diagnosis.
ISBN: 9780443115141
Nuclear Cardiology and Multimodal Cardiovascular Imaging: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease by Marcelo Fernando Di Carli, 2022
Recent years have seen numerous advances in cardiovascular nuclear medicine technology, leading to more precise diagnoses and treatment and an expanded understanding of the molecular basis for cardiac disease. Nuclear Cardiology and Multimodal Cardiovascular Imaging is a one-stop, comprehensive guide to the diagnostic and clinical implications of this complex and increasingly important technology. Part of the Braunwald family of renowned cardiology references, it provides cutting-edge coverage of multimodal cardiac imaging along with case vignettes and integrated teaching content―ideal for cardiologists, cardiology fellows, radiologists, and nuclear medicine physicians.
