eBooks
Challenges in Pediatric Kidney Transplantation : A Practical Guide by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the unique challenges inherent in pediatric kidney transplantation. The text reviews the problems faced during each stage of the kidney transplantation process, including the occurrence of infections during the pre-transplant stage, surgical challenges during the actual transplantation, and medication issues during the post-transplant stage. The book also features high-yield case presentations of typical pediatric transplant scenarios, from the pre-transplant management of a child with CAKUT to the evaluation and treatment of antibody mediated rejection in children. Written by experts in the field, Challenges in Pediatric Kidney Transplantation: A Practical Guide is a valuable resource for clinicians, practitioners, and trainees who manage or are interested in this challenging group of patients.
ISBN: 9783030747831
Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation, 4th ed. by
From basic science to practical clinical tools, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation, 4th Edition provides you with the up-to-date, authoritative guidance you need to safely and effectively manage patients with chronic renal disease. Covering all relevant clinical management issues, this companion volume to Brenner and Rector's The Kidney presents the knowledge and expertise of renowned researchers and clinicians in the fields of hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis, critical care nephrology, and transplantation - for an all-in-one, indispensable guide to every aspect of this fast-changing field. Contains expanded content on economics and outcomes of treatment, as well as acute kidney injury. Covers hot topics such as the genetic causes of chronic kidney disease, ethical challenges and palliative care, and home hemodialysis. Discusses the latest advances in hypertensive kidney disease, vitamin D deficiency, diabetes management, transplantation, and more. Provides a clear visual understanding of complex information with high-quality line drawings, photographs, and diagnostic and treatment algorithms. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Complications in Kidney Transplantation: A Case-Based Guide to Management by
This textbook of clinical cases moves beyond the science of transplant medicine and covers important transplant nephrology concepts. This book covers the diagnosis and treatment of many typical and atypical immunological and infectious post-transplant complications, such as acute antibody-medicated rejection in early and late post-transplant period, post-transplant cytomegalovirus infections, congestive heart failure after kidney transplant, and many other typical and atypical post-transplant infections.In each chapter, a case scenario is given for important post-transplant complications. The scenario is followed by a question and answer on the best investigation, the diagnosis, and a discussion of the best treatment option and outcomes. This stepwise learning process makes this book uniquely helpful to trainees learning how to treat their complicated transplant recipients systematically. This book is an accurate and straightforward guide to assist future and current transplant physicians, as well as the primary care physicians who deal with these complicated patients every day.
ISBN: 9783031135699
Kidney Transplantation: Principles and Practice by
Offering practical guidance for all members of the transplant team, Kidney Transplantation, Principles and Practice, 8th Edition, provides the balanced, up-to-date information you need to achieve optimal outcomes for your patients. A global team of internationally renowned surgeons and nephrologists, many new to this edition, offers fresh perspectives on everything from applied science and surgical techniques to immunosuppressive methods, outcomes, risks, and medical considerations related to kidney transplantation, in both adults and children. Offers state-of-the-art coverage of all areas of kidney transplantation such as preservation of kidneys; mechanisms of rejection and the induction of tolerance; techniques of laparoscopic live donor nephrectomy; and immunosuppression. Contains up-to-date outcomes data and analysis of the evidence supporting current practice in the field. Includes new information on desensitization and considerable new data on the clinical use of costimulation blockade. Keeps you current with new chapters on kidney allocation policy that reflects the ethical and societal values of different countries and populations; and biomarkers of kidney injury and rejection, including the need for better monitoring tools to guide therapy and patient management. Covers hot topics such as management of chronic allograft failure, the sensitized patient and antibody-mediated rejection, and paired exchange principles. Features hundreds of superb illustrations to help you visualize key concepts and nuances of renal transplantation. Provides dynamic visual guidance with new real-time video coverage of ultrasound-guided pancreas allograft biopsy; a new animation of calcineurin inhibitor mechanism of action animation; and videos that demonstrate the formation of an immune synapse, 3-D rotational images of immune synapses, an NK cell killing its target, peritoneal dialysis-catheter insertion techniques, laparoendoscopic single site (LESS) donor nephrectomy, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Kidney Transplantation: Step-by-Step Surgical Techniques by
This book provides a practically applicable guide to the latest techniques in kidney transplantation in an easy-to-digest format. Background is provided on relevant aspects of anatomy and physiology. Detailed step-by-step procedural guidance describes how to successfully perform benching surgery, kidney transplantation and graftectomy techniques. Surgical methods of non-laparoscopic kidney procurement from deceased and living donors are also covered. Potential complications with relevant prevention and resolution strategies are discussed to assist the reader in developing a deep understanding of the methodologies presented. In this book, the author shares his knowledge and experience gained over 35 years in the field of kidney procurement, preparation and transplantation. The book is a monograph and contains many of the author's individual views on certain kidney procurement and transplantation techniques.Kidney Transplantation: Step-by-Step Surgical Techniques is a concise overview of techniques for kidney procurement, benching and transplantation. Therefore, it is a valuable resource for all practicing and trainee practitioners who encounter these patients in their day-to-day practice.
ISBN: 9783030758868
eBooks
Kidney Transplantation in Sensitized Patients by
This book presents state of the art knowledge on all aspects of kidney transplantation in recipients in whom desensitization strategies are necessary in order to overcome immunologic barriers such as anti-human leukocyte antigen (HLA) donor-specific antibody and ABO blood group incompatibility. Readers will find detailed, up-to-date information on the various immunomodulating therapies that may be employed in these circumstances and the outcomes that may be expected. Full guidance is provided on preoperative evaluation and management and post-transplantation care. In addition, the pathology of antibody-mediated rejection and acute cellular rejection in this context is discussed. For most patients with end-stage renal disease, kidney transplantation offers significant benefits compared with dialysis, but especially sensitization to HLAs remains a major clinical obstacle to success. Kidney Transplantation in Sensitized Patients will assist in achieving optimal results in individual patients. It will be an important resource for everyone involved in the care of kidney transplant recipients.
ISBN: 9789811070464
Long-term Care of Kidney Transplant Patients by
Long-Term Care of Kidney Transplant Patients provides details on topics relevant to kidney transplant including current survival rates, phases following kidney transplantation, transplant wellness, current immunosuppressive management, and alloimmune injuries such as early and late T-cell- and antibody-mediated rejections. Various nonalloimmune factors such as post-transplant infections, cardiovascular diseases, and cancers are discussed in special chapters. Chapters are dedicated to psychological and social factors influencing kidney transplant, followed by special chapters on pediatric kidney transplantation and multiorgan transplantation. The final chapter addresses transplant tolerance, and the conclusion summarizes all chapters and highlights potential novel advances that might become game changers in the kidney transplant field. This comprehensive book is a valuable resource for clinical transplant physicians and surgeons, nephrologists, primary care physicians, as well as other healthcare specialists involved in the care of kidney transplant patients such as cardiologists and critical care physicians. It also benefits other healthcare providers such as pharmacists, psychologists, advanced nurse practitioners, pharmaceutical and diagnostic companies, and agencies involved in kidney transplantation.
ISBN: 9780197697344
Molmenti's Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation: Operative Techniques and Medical Management by
With 600 photos and illustrations--this highly visual, concise guide provides everything you need to know about transplanting the kidney and pancreas The kidney is are the most commonly transplanted organ, and the liver is the second most-common (80% of pancreas transplantations are done in combination with kidneys). Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation provides a concise, visual approach to learning through hundreds of high-quality operative images and bulleted text--everything you need to successfully perform operations on and medically manage these vital organs. It covers every relevant topic, including ethics, complications, live and deceased donor evaluation, pharmacology, and anesthesia. Each chapter provides an overview of the essentials of kidney disease, pre- and post-operative patient management, operative techniques, pathology, and imaging.
Textbook of Kidney Transplantation by
"In this book, pertinent topics related to renal transplantation have been covered bearing in mind renal fellows, practicing physicians, immunologists, and transplant surgeon. It gives special emphasis on case-based discussions and summaries at the end of chapters. Along with renal transplantation, it covers organ transplantation also. Special emphasis has been given on cadaver transplant and how to setup cadaver transplant program in the country. The Cadaver transplantation program has immense potential in this country and has a long way to go to help the end-stage renal disease patient."--Amazon website.
ISBN: 9789354659461Publication Date: 2022-12-25
