Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
ADA nutrition care manual [e-resource] by
The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetic's Nutrition Care Manual® (NCM/PNCM) products are internet-based diet manuals and professional practice manuals for Registered Dietitians, Dietetic Technicians Registered, and allied health professionals. NCM is purchased by annual subscription and gives you online access to evidence- and knowledge-based nutrition information that keeps you current and compliant.
- NCM is consistent with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’ Interpretive Guidelines for the Hospital Conditions of Participation.
- NCM meets the Joint Commission’s Hospital Accreditation Standards.
- NCM has been named the preferred diet manual by the Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program.
- The Academy's Nutrition Care Manual® complies with DNV's NIAHOTM accreditation program.
American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide by
Call Number: RA784 .D89 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
This cornerstone guide from the American Dietetic Association, written by nationally recognized food and nutrition expert and registered dietitian Roberta Duyff, covers the basics on nutrition, managing weight, and healthy eating. It also provides easy steps and how-tos for selecting, preparing, and storing foods safely to get the most nutrition and flavor for your dollar, and more. Comprehensive, accessible, and easy-to-use, this valuable reference shows how to make healthy food choices to fit any lifestyle.
Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease by
Publication Date: 2012-12-18
Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease, 11th Edition, offers coverage of nutrition's role in disease prevention, international nutrition issues, public health concerns, the role of obesity in a variety of chronic illnesses, genetics as it applies to nutrition, and areas of major scientific progress relating nutrition to disease.
Advancing Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition by
Publication Date: 2010-07-21
This book provides a comprehensive account of the relevant physiology, pathophysiology, nutritional therapy and dietetic application for each specialist dietetic area. All major specialist areas involved in the the treatment of adults are covered. The first section deals with clinical governance, for example patient-centred care, clinical decision-making and developing evidence-based practice. The second section on advanced clinical practice describes 18 clinical conditions or dietetic areas in detail. There is detailed coverage of 18 clinical conditions or dietetic areas: The control of food intake and absorption of nutrients Drug nutrient interactions Food allergy - allergy and intolerance Irritable bowel disease (IBD) and colorectal cancer Short bowel syndrome Enteral nutrition Parenteral nutrition Thermal injury Nutrition and liver disease HIV Palliative care Renal disease Diabetes Obesity Cardiovascular disease Stroke Neurological conditions Mental health. Each chapter concludes with a section on possible future developments in the specialty, providing insight into 'hot topics', making this an essential text for all working in the field of Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition. Each clinical chapter follows a standard structure: Learning objectives Key points summarise important aspects Case studies with questions and answers help link theory to practice References and further reading suggestions encourage wider research.
Issues and Choices in Clinical Nutrition Practice by
Call Number: RM216 .I87 2007
Publication Date: 2006-06-08
Written by eminent authorities in nutrition and dietetics, this unique text explores controversial and challenging issues that dietitians must deal with in clinical practice. Topics addressed include the economics of dietetic patient care. the dietetic professional's role on the healthcare team, the impact of emerging sciences on nutrition practice,and international nutritional guidelines. The book encourages students and practitioners to reevaluate the dietitian's role and examine viewpoints that vary from traditional approaches in nutrition practice. Issues to Ponder boxes provide interesting questions and topics for further exploration and discussion. More than 95 graphs and tables illustrate key concepts and synthesize important information.
Nutrition and Diagnosis-Related Care by
Call Number: RM217.2 .E83 2012
Publication Date: 2011-01-21
Developed by well-known author and nutritionist Sylvia Escott-Stump, the Seventh Edition of this classic text provides timely, pertinent medical nutrition therapy information for the care of patients with over 360 diseases, disorders, and conditions. Each entry for a condition includes vital background information, objectives for care, dietary and nutritional recommendations, and commonly used medications and herbal or botanical remedies and their potential side effects. This edition features a new full-color art program and additional clinical photographs. The new Dietary Reference Intakes are used throughout the book. An expanded complementary nutrition section provides vital information on herbs, botanicals, and dietary supplements."
Manual of Nutritional Therapeutics by
Call Number: RM 217.2 .A47 2008 c. 2
Publication Date: 2008-03-07
Coauthored by three physicians and a dietitian, this quick-reference manual provides practical, evidence-based recommendations for nutrition of healthy individuals, nutritional support of hospitalized patients, and dietary management of patients with diabetes, renal disease, hyperlipidemia, obesity, and wasting diseases such as cancer and AIDS. This thoroughly updated edition includes new information on metabolic syndrome, immuno-nutrition, and vitamin D deficiency. Chapters on nutritional support decision making, enteral and parenteral nutritional therapy, and use of diets and dietary components in clinical practice have been completely revised. Appendices include commonly used formulae, recommended dietary allowances, food labeling, and dietary guides for patient use
Helpful Support Resources
Need help? Contact a Librarian.