Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Effective Database Searching: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid)

This guide to key library databases helps you decide which databases to use and assists you in searching them more effectively.

Search Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid)

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid)

You should consider searching for Cochrane Reviews in these databases using subject headings:

MEDLINE (Ovid)

PubMed

EMBASE (Ovid)

CINAHL

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid) Overview

Cochrane reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care & health policy.

Each systematic review addresses a clearly formulated question, e.g., Is telemonitoring effective for heart failure patients? All the existing primary research on a topic that meets certain criteria is searched for, collated, & assessed using stringent guidelines to establish whether or not there is conclusive evidence about a specific intervention.

Search for Cochrane Reviews using any of these databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid), Medline (Ovid), PubMed, or CINAHL. Links to the full-text of the reviews are provided in these databases.

Strengths

- Cochrane Reviews are recognized internationally as having the highest standard for evidence-based information.

- Reviews are updated regularly.

Limitations

- Cochrane Reviews are helpful if you can find your topic. Not every topic is covered.

- When searching the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews directly through the OVID system, you will need to do a field search [e.g., search by title words or abstract words] since this database doesn't have subject headings.

- Be aware of British vs. American spellings.

Help Resources

Questions?

         

                  Contact us