Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Effective Database Searching: Micromedex

This guide to key library databases helps you decide which databases to use and assists you in searching them more effectively.

Search Micromedex at Mayo

Micromedex Overview

- A comprehensive drug-based resource also spanning diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicines, and patient education materials.

- Provides ability to factor in alternative medicines and allergies into drug interaction searches.

- Provides ability to build side-by-side drug comparisons.

Strengths

- Includes full-text drug information including drug overviews, adverse effects, drug interactions.

- Find CareNotes (handouts for patients) on drug/disease/lab tests topics. Mayo-approved for patient distribution. English & Spanish versions.

Limitations

- Best for broad single term searching - e.g., if looking for information on the adverse effects of coumadin, start your search by typing the single word, coumadin, in the search box; then select Adverse Effects from the Summary Information.

- References are included for the drug monographs, but are usually not the most recent and don't link into PubMed or another database.

Help Resources

Questions?

         

                  Contact us