Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Effective Database Searching: EBSCO MegaFILE

This guide to key library databases helps you decide which databases to use and assists you in searching them more effectively.

Search EBSCO MegaFILE

EBSCO MegaFILE Overview

EBSCO MegaFILE is comprised of three EBSCO databases - Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier and Regional Business News.  It provides access to a wide range of multidisciplinary journals, sometimes dating back to the 1800s. 

Strengths

- Good source for business/management or general information

- A large number of articles are readily available in full text

- Permits restricting of results to scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals

- Includes company profiles

- Proximity searching can be done. For example, tax N5 reform will find results that match with tax reform as well as reform of income tax (N5 looks for the specified words within 5 words of one another regardless of order)

- HTML full text documents in EBSCO can be downloaded as MP3 files as well as translated into other langauges

Limitations

- Subject thesaurus is not very user-friendly

- May need to make use of field codes to obtain optimal search results. For example, use TI before a keyword to search for that word in the title of an article. Other common field codes are AB for abstract and AU for author

- May need to search EBSCO's Academic Source Premier and Business Source Premier separately for more refined search results

Questions?

         

                  Contact us