Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Effective Database Searching: MEDLINE (Ovid)

This guide to key library databases helps you decide which databases to use and assists you in searching them more effectively.

Search MEDLINE (Ovid)

Questions?

         

                  Contact us

MEDLINE (Ovid) Overview

Hosted by Ovid, MEDLINE Is the premier biomedical database from the National Library of Medicine. Covers all biomedical subjects including medicine, biological & physical sciences, nursing, healthcare management, & information science as it relates to healthcare.

Strengths

- Automatically maps your search terms to preferred medical subject headings (MeSH)

- Offers proximity searching. For example, lung adj5 transplant allows you to search for a string of terms within 5 words of lung and transplant such as  lung and antibiotics therapy in transplant

- Includes citations back to 1946.  Search MEDLINE In-Process to find the most recently published articles. Search Old MEDLINE for articles dating from 1946.

- Includes references to the evidence-based Cochrane Systematic Reviews

- Structured approach to searching for complex topics

- Search different Ovid databases at one time, e.g., you can search MEDLINE & EMBASE simultaneously (however, the "Map Term to Subject Heading" feature, which automatically utilizes a database controlled vocabulary, such as MeSH or EMTREE, is disengaged).

Limitations

- When performing a subject search, you must select the Explode option to expand search results

- Conference abstracts are not indexed

- Unlike PubMed, there is not a direct link to consumer health information from MedlinePlus

Help Resources