Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Effective Database Searching: Mayo Authors

This guide to key library databases helps you decide which databases to use and assists you in searching them more effectively.

Search Mayo Authors

Statistics Results

Mayo Authors Database Statistics

Users can find the number of publication types by user or by department by using the "Statistics" matrix that is built in as a function with in Mayo Authors Database. The display can provide one year or a range of years based on the length time in the query. Publication types are: article, chapter, abstract, book, patents, technical reports, comments, editorial, letter, thesis, review, tribute. This statistical report can be copied into Excel for future use or incorporated into a report.

Mayo Authors Overview

Mayo Authors database is an inclusive repository of Mayo publications from 1871 to the present. It is produced internally and serves as an archival record of significant publication activity of the Mayo Clinic.

Strengths

Publication types include: articles, books, chapters, meeting abstracts, comments, editorials, substantive letters, reviews, technical reports, tributes, theses, computer software, patents, digital publications

- Statistical parameters are available over a number of years (number of  articles, book chapters, abstracts)

- Unique way of browsing/searching for authors

- Greater specifity in author searching

- Publication activity covers 1871 - Current

- Selected scanned reprints available starting from 1871

Limitations

- Does not include "forthcoming" or "in press" records, newsletters, unpublished oral presentations, or abstracts for article citations

- Internal communications unavailable outside Mayo are excluded

 

Help Resources

Video Tutorials (Mayo)

Text-based Informatoin:

Guide on Mayo Authors

Questions?

         

Contact these Mayo Library Staff:

Mark Wentz

Dana Gerberi

Karen Larsen