Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Effective Database Searching: Impact Factor & More

This guide to key library databases helps you decide which databases to use and assists you in searching them more effectively.

Impact Factor & More

 

 

 

Refer to the guides below for commonly needed research tools:

 


 

Cited Reference Searching is a way to find articles that have cited a previously published work allowing for discovery of how a known idea has been further discussed in the research.  Several sources are available for locating cited references.

-Cited Reference Searching guide

 


 

 

Eigenfactor Score and Article Influence are ratings of the total importance of a scientific journal or article.

 

Eigenfactor Score and Article Influence guide


h Index is based on a scholar's most cited works and the number of times these have been referenced in the literature

-h Index guide

 


 

Journal Impact Factor provides the rate an “average article” in a journal has been cited in a particular year. It serves as a means to compare different journals in a field of study. [Exclusive to Thompson Reuters’ Journal Citation Reports]

-Journal Impact Factor guide


Mayo Authors has a statistical feature to review the number of articles, abstracts, books, book chapters, patents and other publications individual authors have authored. [Produced by Mayo Clinic Library staff]

-Mayo Authors guide

 


 

SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) is a tool used for measuring the value of citations based on journal esteem and influence. [Generated by Elsevier’s Scopus Database]

 

 

-SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) guide

 


 

Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) is a measure that allows for comparison of journal citation performance across disciplines. [Generated by Elsevier’s Scopus Database]

 

-Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP) guide

 


CiteScore provides a comprehensive assessment of the average citations per document that a journal title receives over a 3-year window of time professing to be more transparent and less biased than the Impact Factor.  The CiteScore Tracker also shows current monthly data.  [Generated by Elsevier’s Scopus Database]

-CiteScore guide