Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Effective Database Searching: Nursing/Allied Health

This guide to key library databases helps you decide which databases to use and assists you in searching them more effectively.

Nursing/Allied Health Databases

CINAHL [Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health] contains over 2.6 million records closely covering the nursing and allied health literature. [Produced by EBSCO]

-CINAHL guide


MEDLINE (Ovid) contains over 19 million records to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. [Produced by the National Library of Medicine and presented with Ovid’s searching interface]

-MEDLINE (Ovid) guide


PubMed contains all of Medline as well as some general science citations.  It is freely available. [Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine]

-PubMed guide


PsycINFO (Ovid) contains over 3 million records including articles, dissertations, and selected books from the psychology literature. [Produced by the American Psychological Association and presented with Ovid’s searching interface]

-PsycINFO (Ovid) guide


EMBASE (Ovid) contains over 25 million records, largely international in scope, including all of Medline as well as medical conference papers.  Pharmacology and toxicology topics are highly represented. [Produced by Elsevier and presented with Ovid’s searching interface]

-EMBASE (Ovid) guide


EBSCO MegaFILE contains over 3 million records with some full text articles covering academic, business and general interest subject areas. [Produced by EBSCO]

-EBSCO MegaFILE guide

 

Mayo Authors contains over 230,000 records and uniquely covers Mayo authored articles, books, book chapters and meeting abstracts (1871-present). [Produced by Mayo Clinic Library staff]

-Mayo Authors guide