Books
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals by
Written with health professions students in mind, the Third Edition of Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals offers an engaging, approachable, and comprehensive overview of human anatomy and physiology. The Third Edition features a total of six multifaceted 'Units' which build upon an understanding of basic knowledge, take readers through intermediate subjects, and finally delve into complex topics that stimulate critical thinking. Heavily revised with updated content throughout, chapters include useful features, such as Common Abbreviations, Medical Terminology, the Metric System and more! Students will want to take advantage of the many resources available to reinforce learning --including Test Your Understanding questions that regularly assess comprehension, flash cards for self-study, an interactive eBook with more than 20 animations, and interactive and printable Lab Exercises and Case Studies. FEATURES Provides a comprehensive overview of human anatomy and physiology Presents content in an accessible manner targeted to health professions students Offers access to helpful animations and interactive learning tools Includes clinical images such as X-rays, CT scans and MRIs Covers the effects of aging on various body systems Offers robust end of chapter assessments for learners
Call Number: QP34.5 .M65 2020xISBN: 1284151972
Assessing Competence in Medicine and Other Health Professions by
This comprehensive, yet accessible, text demystifies the challenging area of competence assessement in medicine and the health sciences, providing a clear framework and the tools for anyone working or studying in this area. Written by a single, highly experienced, author, the content benefits from uniformity of style and is supported and enhanced by a range of pedagogic features including cases, questions and summaries. Essential reading for all students and practitioners of medical education, it will also be an invaluable guide for allied health professionals and psychologists with a general interest in assessment, evaluation and measurement and a useful library reference.
Call Number: RA399.A1 V56 2019ISBN: 1498785085
Bailey & Love's Essential Clinical Anatomy by
This essential companion to Bailey & Love's Short Practice of Surgery covers the clinical conditions most commonly encountered by medical students, junior clinicians,and surgeons in training. This is clinical anatomy at its best ! Structured by body region, each chapter includes plentiful clinical photographs and images supplementing the high-quality anatomical diagrams, using the best modality to demonstrate anatomical relevance. Highlighted descriptions of clinical relevance emphasise the integrated approach so central to current teaching practice, and facilitated by the wealth of both clinical and anatomical experience of the distinguished author team.
Call Number: QM25 .B35 2019xISBN: 113829523X
Clinical Anatomy: Applied Anatomy for Students and Junior Doctors by
Now in its fourteenth edition, Clinical Anatomy is the definitive text offering medical students, postgraduate trainees and junior doctors the anatomical information they need to succeed in a clinical setting. Professor Harold Ellis and Professor Vishy Mahadevan provide an accessible, comprehensive, and detailed exploration of anatomy, specifically designed for students and trainees at all levels. Revised and updated, the fourteenth edition contains more information about the nervous system as well as medical images, diagrams and photographs that are overlaid with anatomical illustrations, revealing detailed surface anatomy. This edition: Puts greater emphasis on clinical relevance and contains more content for non-surgical trainees Offers a variety of illustrative clinical scenario case studies Contains many more medical images and diagrams such as CT and MRI Presents expanded information on the nervous system Includes a companion website that contains digital flashcards of all the illustrations and photographs presented in the book Written for medical students, junior doctors, and those studying for The Royal College of Surgeons examinations, the new edition of Clinical Anatomy continues to be an essential resource for understanding the basics of clinical anatomy.
Call Number: QM23.2 .E55 2019ISBN: 1119325536
Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions by
Clinical reasoning lies at the core of health care practice and education. Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions, therefore, occupies a central place in the education of health professionals, the enhancement of professional decision making of individuals and groups of practitioners with their clients, and research into optimal practice reasoning. Key themes presented: Clinical reasoning as a composite of encultured capabilities Clinical reasoning embedded within situated practice including the wider socio-economic and political contexts, the practitioner's and the client's contexts, and shared goals such as promoting health communities The importance of narratives, language and culture in clinical decision making Changing reasoning practices linked to increasing autonomy of practitioners working without the requirement of medical referrals Clinical reasoning as an increasingly team-based practice, including shared decision making with clients The need for sound strategies and tools to facilitate the expanding collaborations in health care across disciplines and with clients and carers Advanced education approaches promoting expansion and enhancement of reasoning strategies The importance of building good practices for learning clinical reasoning into curricula and into students' own practice development approaches Strengthening links between orthodox and complementary medicine reasoning practices New to this edition: All chapters updated and 20 new chapters added Concrete examples, cases and vignettes were added to bring discussions to life for the reader Reflection points strategically placed to assist readers to extend their insights and build learning from their own practical experiences and theoretical knowledge Devices of particular value to reflective practitioners and educators. This is a book for teachers and learners, practitioners, practice leaders, researchers and curriculum managers. Indeed, it is a valuable resource for educators seeking to ground their teaching practices in educational theory, sound knowledge of clinical reasoning and practice-based evidence, and researchers seeking to expand their research horizons. All chapters updated and 20 new chapters added Concrete examples, cases and vignettes were added to bring discussions to life for the reader Reflection points strategically placed to assist readers to extend their insights and build learning from their own practical experiences and theoretical knowledge Devices of particular value to reflective practitioners and educators.
Call Number: R723 .C57 2019ISBN: 0702062243
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: A Practical Guide by Call Number: RA440.85 .A949 2019xISBN: 0335248004
Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology: An Essential Guide for Nursing and Healthcare Students by
Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology introduces nursing and healthcare students to the pathophysiology of the child, and offers an applied full-colour visual approach throughout. Explaining the anatomy of the human body, and the effects of disease or illness on normal physiology, it enables the reader to develop the understanding, knowledge, and skills required to know how to respond and provide safe and effective high-quality care to children and their families. Key features: Written by an experienced author team Filled with superb full-colour illustrations Packed with learning features, including key words, test-your-knowledge, exercises, further reading, and learning outcomes Includes case studies to help readers understand how to apply the knowledge in clinical practice Contains links to clinical observations, vital signs to look out for, investigations boxes, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, and medication alerts Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology is an ideal book for pre-registration nursing students, including child and adult nurses, as well as for all healthcare professionals who come into contact with children and their families.
Call Number: RJ49 .F85 2019ISBN: 1119232651
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by
The leading text on human physiology for more than four decades--enhanced by all new video tutorials For more than four decades, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong's concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review. Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology. *More than 600 full-color illustrations *Two types of review questions: end-of-chapter and board-style *NEW! Increased number of clinical cases and flow charts *NEW! Video tutorials from the author; high-yield Frequently Asked Question feature with detailed explanations; improved legends that eliminate the need to refer back to the text
Call Number: QP34.5 .G35 2019ISBN: 1260122409
Gray's Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body by
Perfect for hands-on reference, Gray's Clinical Photographic Dissector of the Human Body, 2nd Edition is a practical resource in the anatomy lab, on surgical rotations, during clerkship and residency, and beyond! The fully revised second edition of this unique dissection guide uses superb full-color photographs to orient you more quickly in the anatomy lab, and points out the clinical relevance of each structure and every dissection. Perform dissections with confidence by comparing the 1,098 full-color photographs to the cadavers you study. Easily relate anatomical structures to clinical conditions and procedures. Understand the pertinent anatomy for more than 30 common clinical procedures such as lumbar puncture and knee aspiration, including where to make the relevant incisions. Depend on the same level of accuracy and thoroughness that have made Gray's Anatomy the defining reference on this complex subject, thanks to the expertise of the author team - all leading authorities in the world of clinical anatomy. Use this unique guide as a hands-on reference in the anatomy lab, on surgical rotations, during clerkship and residency, and beyond! New and improved photographs guide you through each dissection step-by-step. All new page design, incorporating explanatory diagrams alongside photographs to more easily orientate you on the cadaver. Corresponding Gray's illustrations added to aid understanding and add clarity to key anatomical structures. New coverage of the pelvis and perineum added to this edition. Access to the complete enhanced eBook version, including 68 BONUS dissection videos (with the printed book) Perform dissections with confidence by comparing the 1,098 full-color photographs to the cadavers you study. Easily relate anatomical structures to clinical conditions and procedures. Understand the pertinent anatomy for more than 30 common clinical procedures such as lumbar puncture and knee aspiration, including where to make the relevant incisions. Depend on the same level of accuracy and thoroughness that have made Gray's Anatomy the defining reference on this complex subject, thanks to the expertise of the author team - all leading authorities in the world of clinical anatomy. New and improved photographs guide you through each dissection step-by-step. All-new page design, incorporating explanatory diagrams alongside photographs to more easily orientate you on the cadaver. Corresponding Gray's illustrations added to aid understanding and add clarity to key anatomical structures. New coverage of the pelvis and perineum added to this edition. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references - including 68 bonus dissection videos - from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: QM34 .L68 2019ISBN: 0323544177
Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professions by
With coverage of both legal and ethical issues, this text gives you the foundation to handle common health care challenges in everyday practice. Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professions, 4th Edition includes practice cases specifically developed for key allied health programs along with enhanced pedagogical content. Additionally, it features a variety of exercises to help reinforce content from the book, as well as updated coverage of medical records, privacy, patient consent and abuse, the impact of interprofessional team work, and key industry trends. Detailed coverage of current legal and ethical issues and case law help facilitate interesting and relevant discussions. What If? boxes present ethical dilemmas and help you'apply concepts from the book to real-life examples. Specialty practice cases provide practical application for specialties (Medical Assisting, MIBC, Pharm Tech, etc.) and help you relate your experience with practice. Increased coverage of the impact of interprofessional teamwork demonstrates the impact ethics have on health care work. NEW! Two all new chapters covering Medical Records and Key Trends in Healthcare. NEW! Enhanced coverage of patient consent and abuse outlines what students need to know about what's right and wrong when working with patients. NEW! Updated case studies discuss the issues faced in a variety of healthcare settings.
Call Number: KF3821 .M74 2019xISBN: 0323496415
Lippincott Illustrated Review: Anatomy by
New to the series, Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Anatomy equips students with a clear, cohesive understanding of clinical anatomy, accentuated with embryology and histology content to ensure their readiness for clinical challenges. The popular Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews series format integrates approachable, lecture-style outlines with detailed full-color illustrations and photographs to clarify complex information and help students visualize key anatomic structures. Accompanying clinical examples make content even more accessible, and board-style review questions build test-taking confidence to help students excel on their exams. Succinct, outline-style text guides students step by step through essential concepts. More than 500 illustrations, color-coded cadaveric photographs, micrographs, and radiographic images vibrantly enrich students' understanding of anatomic structures. Chapter Overviews and Summaries establish learning goals and reinforce key content for a fast, efficient review. Clinical Applications challenge students to apply their knowledge to commonly encountered clinical scenarios. Detailed tables ensure quick access to important facts and figures. Board-style review questions help students assess their understanding and prepare for exams.
Call Number: QM31 .H37 2019ISBN: 1496317904
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Physiology by
Enhanced by a new chapter, new illustrations, and new Q&As, Lippincott ® Illustrated Reviews: Physiology, Second Edition brings physiology clearly into focus, telling the story of who we are; how we live; and, ultimately, how we die. By first identifying organ function and then showing how cells and tissues are designed to fulfill that function, this resource decodes physiology like no other text or review book. Tailored for ease of use and fast content absorption, the book's outline format, visionary artwork, clinical applications, and unit review questions help students master the most essential concepts in physiology, making it perfect for classroom learning and test and boards preparation. A new chapter on erythropoiesis and blood gas transport provides critical information on this key topic. New content on the impact of normal aging on organ function brings the book thoroughly up to date. Review questions with explanations for each system help prepare students for course and board examinations. More than 600 annotated, full-color illustrations--including more than 20 new to this edition--guide readers step by step through complex processes. Overviews and Chapter Summaries set clear goals for topic mastery and reemphasize essential concepts in a coherent framework. Clinical Applications boxes and clinical images encourage readers to apply their knowledge, taking them from the classroom to the bedside. Margin Example Equation boxes and in-text boxes highlight memorable information and keep physiology in a real-world context. Five online animations explain complex concepts in a memorable way. A consistent outline format makes critical information easy to access and assimilate. Cross references and Infolinks to topics are keyed to page headers to expedite location and are also provided for topics in other books in the Lippincott ® Illustrated Reviews series to help students develop an interdisciplinary grasp of key concepts. Unit-review questions in board-review style test understanding of fundamental concepts as well as the students' ability to draw connections among multiple organ systems.
Call Number: QP40 .P74 2019xISBN: 1496385829
Management Lessons from Mayo Clinic: Inside One of the World's Most Admired Service Organizations by
The leader's guide to building a service powerhouse using the approach that made Mayo Clinic the #1 Hospital in America Mayo Clinic is among the best service organizations in the world. It fosters a culture that exceeds customer expectations and earns deep loyalty from both customers and employees. This classic business guide explains the methods behind Mayo Clinic's success and delivers universal lessons to business leaders in any service organization. Management Lessons from Mayo Clinic provides a close examination of the operating principles guiding every management decision at this legendary institution. The authors explain how the Clinic implements and maintains its strategy, adheres to its management system, executes its care model, and embraces new knowledge. Each chapter concludes with a section titled "Lessons for Managers." You'll learn how to apply the Clinic's winning methods to your own organization: business concepts that produce stellar results, effective organizational efficiency, and world-class interpersonal service.
Call Number: RA982.M6 B36 2017ISBN: 1260011836
Managing Your Professional Identity Online: A Guide for Faculty, Staff, and Administrators by
In higher education, professional online identities have become increasingly important. A rightly worded tweet can cause an academic blog post to go viral. A wrongly worded tweet can get a professor fired. Regular news items in The Chronicle of Higher Educationand Inside Higher Edprovide evidence that reputations are both built and crushed via online platforms. Ironically, given the importance of digital identities to job searches, the promotion and distribution of scholarly work, pedagogical innovation, and many other components of an academic life, higher education professionals receive little to no training about how to best represent themselves in a digital space. Managing Your Professional Identity Online: A Guide for Higher Educationfills this gap by offering higher education professionals the information and guidance they need to: - craft strong online biographical statements for a range of platforms; - prioritize where and how they want to represent themselves online in a professional capacity; - intentionally and purposefully create an effective brand for their professional identity online; - develop online profiles that are consistent, professional, accurate, organized, of good quality, and representative of their academic lives; - regularly update and maintain an online presence; - post appropriately in a range of online platforms and environments; and - successfully promote their professional accomplishments. Managing Your Professional Identity Onlineis practical and action-oriented. In addition to offering a range of case studies demonstrating concrete examples of effective practices, the book is built around activities, templates, worksheets, rubrics, and bonus materials that walk readers through a step-by-step guide of how to design, build, and maintain professional online identities.
Call Number: LB1778 .L56 2018ISBN: 162036669X
McLaughlin and Kaluzny's Continuous Quality Improvement in Health Care by
Through a unique interdisciplinary perspective on health care quality and safety, McLaughlin & Kaluzny's Continuous Quality Improvement in Health Care, Fifth Edition covers the subjects of operations management, organizational behavior, and healthcare service delivery. With a broad focus on both the philosophy and processes of Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI), the challenges of implementation and institutionalization are addressed using examples from a variety of health care organizations, including primary care clinics, public health departments, and academic health centers. Significantly revised and updated throughout, the Fifth Edition offers a greater focus on practical application and incorporates contributions from leading health care quality. Additionally, the text has been reorganized and streamlined into 14 chapters, in lieu of the prior edition's 20 chapters, to make it an even more effective teaching and learning tool. While being more applied and practical, it does so without sacrificing depth. Extensive citations and detailed examples help students to understand the rationale and the most recent research and practice evidence that underpins the new techniques described. The 5th Edition features: - Streamlined coverage for enhanced teachability. - New chapters on Implementation Science, Lean Six Sigma, and Understanding Variation, Tools and Data Sources for CQI in Health Care - Greater focus on application. For example, the new implementation science chapter includes an appendix describing how to apply implementation science. - Discussion of the Quadruple Aim of health care and impact on CQI; how Public Health has institutionalized CQI to ensure community health quality; how CQI has been more broadly adopted in Low to Middle Income Countries; and much more.
Call Number: RA399.A3 C66 2020ISBN: 1284126595
Porth's Pathophysiology: Concepts of Altered Health States by
The 10th edition ofPorth's Pathophysiology: Concepts of Altered Health Statescontinues a legacy of excellence by providing comprehensive, nursing-focused coverage designed to help grasp both the physical and psychological aspects of altered health. The book's unique emphasis on "concepts" of altered health states, as opposed to factual descriptions of diseases and disorders, helps students grasp both the physical and psychological aspects of altered health. Porth's Pathophysiology: Concepts of Altered Health StatesTenth Edition Tommie L. Norris, DNS, RN Meet today's clinical challenges with the trusted authority in pathophysiology Make the most of your pathophysiology course and master the knowledge to ensure clinical success. Trusted for more than 30 years and updated to reflect today's nursing challenges, this engaging text makes complex concepts accessible and helps you easily and confidently grasp normal body function, the effects of disease on body systems, and the body's ability to compensate and adapt. This edition also considers the many technological advances that allow healthcare providers to diagnose earlier and with more accuracy. Highlights of the Tenth Edition Approachable presentationbuilds understanding from basic to advanced concepts and defines key terms as you progress. "Chunked" contentkeeps you focused on the most critical information and helps you review salient points efficiently. Unit-Opening Case Studies, which are revisited in one or more chapters in the unit, bring pathophysiology to life and equip you for success in clinical practice. Approximately 1,000 vibrant illustrationsclarify the clinical manifestations of diseases and disease processes. Understandingboxes break physiologic processes and phenomena into their sequential parts, providing insight into the many opportunities for disease to disrupt the processes. Key Pointsboxes andIn Summarysections reduce the need for memorization and help you incorporate important points into broader conceptual units. NEW!Pediatric ConsiderationsandGeriatric Considerationsboxes in each chapter specify how the chapter content applies to these two special populations. NEW!Concept Mastery Alertsexplain topics that students can find confusing. Review Exercisesat the end of each chapter test your retention and identify areas for further study. Referencesprovide fast, efficient access to normal laboratory values in both conventional and SI units, as well as a comprehensive glossary. Narrated animationsreferenced by icons in the text and available online enhance your understanding of the most challenging and clinically relevant concepts.
Call Number: RB113 .P67 2019ISBN: 1496377559
