Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hematology in Practice by êêêêê Easy to read. "Very easy to follow. Made it easy to understand difficult topics!"--Amazon Reviewer êêêêê I highly recommend this book. "... straight forward and I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a solid understanding of the most important concepts behind the tests performed in a modern hematology laboratory. Some textbooks today make it difficult for hematology students and lab professionals alike to figure out what it is that they "really need to know" to be effective and competent in the lab. Hematology in Practice addresses exactly this problem. In addition, this book will give a student an understanding that is more than good enough to pass general and categorical licensing exams."--Michael B., Amazon Reviewer Basic principles of hematology made memorable. Build a solid understanding of hematology in the context of practical laboratory practice and principles. Visual language, innovative case studies, role-playing troubleshooting cases, and laboratory protocols bring laboratory practice to life. Superbly organized, this reader-friendly text breaks a complex subject into easy-to-follow, manageable sections. Begin with the basic principles of hematology; discover red and white blood cell disorders; journey through hemostasis and disorders of coagulation; and then explore the procedures needed in the laboratory.
Call Number: RB145 .C525 2018
Laposata's Laboratory Medicine: The Diagnosis of Disease in Clinical Laboratory by A complete full-color guide to medical test selection and test result interpretation Laboratory Medicine is an essential text for medical students and residents studying clinical pathology, medical technology students, and for practitioners working in a clinical setting. By selecting the appropriate tests and interpreting the results correctly, physicians using this book should be able to optimize patient outcomes and reduce the cost of achieving a diagnosis. This full-color guide features an easy-to-follow, consistent presentation for each disease discussed. Chapters begin with a brief description of the disorder followed by a discussion that includes tables detailing the laboratory evaluation of specific disorders, and coverage of diagnosis, baseline tests to exclude diagnostic possibilities, and clinical indications that warrant further screening and special testing. *Updated to reflect the most current information *Board review questions appear at the end of each chapter *Approximately 50 laboratory methods presented in easy-to-understand illustrations which include information on the expense and complexity of the assays *More than 200 tables and full-color algorithms encapsulate important information and facilitate understanding *Full-color blood-smear micrographs demonstrate common abnormal morphologies of red blood cells *Valuable learning aids in each chapter, including learning objectives, chapter outlines, and a general introduction *Extensive table of Clinical Laboratory Reference Values showing the conversions between US and SI units for each value *Coverage of genetic test options that are now commonly used in clinical practice
Call Number: RB37 .L297 2019
Linne and Ringsrud's Clinical Laboratory Science: Concepts, Procedures, and Clinical Applications by Thoroughly updated and easy-to-follow, Linne & Ringsrud's Clinical Laboratory Science: Concepts, Procedures, and Clinical Applications, 8th Edition offers a fundamental overview of the laboratory skills and techniques you'll need for success in the clinical laboratory. Author Mary Louise Turgeon's simple and straightforward writing clarifies complex concepts, and her unique discipline-by-discipline approach helps you build knowledge and learn to confidently perform routine clinical laboratory tests with accurate, effective results. Topics like safety, measurement techniques, and quality assessment are woven throughout the various skills. The new eighth edition also features updated content including expanded information on viruses and automation. It's the must-have foundation for anyone wanting to pursue a profession in the clinical lab. Broad content scope provides an ideal introduction to clinical laboratory science at a variety of levels, including CLS/MT, CLT/MLT, and Medical Assisting. Case studies include critical thinking and multiple-choice questions to challenge readers to apply the content to real-life scenarios. Expert insight from respected educator Mary Lou Turgeon reflects the full spectrum of clinical lab science. Detailed procedures guides readers through the exact steps performed in the lab. Vivid full-color illustrations familiarize readers with what they'll see under the microscope. Review questions at the end of each chapter help readers assess your understanding and identify areas requiring additional study. Evolve companion website provides convenient online access to all of the procedures in the text and houses animations, flashcards, and additional review questions not found in the printed text. Procedure worksheets can be used in the lab and for assignment as homework. Streamlined approach makes must-know concepts and practices more accessible. Convenient glossary simplifies the process of looking up definitions without having to search through each chapter. NEW! Updated content throughout keeps pace with constant changes in clinical lab science. NEW! Consistent review question format ensures consistency and enables readers to study more efficiently. NEW! More discussion of automation familiarizes readers with the latest automation technologies and processes increasingly used in the clinical lab to increase productivity and elevate experimental data quality. NEW! Additional information on viruses keeps readers up to date on this critical area of clinical lab science.
Call Number: RB37 .L683 2020
Medical Laboratory Science Review by Davis Edge for Medical Laboratory Science Review, 5th Edition www.DavisEdge.com Book & Davis Edge: 978-0-8036-6827-0 Instant Access to Davis Edge only: 978-0-8036-9016-5 Medical Laboratory Science Review and Davis Edge work together to create an immersive, multimedia experience for students and an invaluable assessment and remediation tool for instructors. The text provides the foundational knowledge. Davis Edge tracks student progress and assesses their knowledge in real time until they''ve mastered the must-know concepts. Davis Edge Davis Edge is the interactive, online Q&A review platform that provides the practice students need to master course content, improve their scores on classroom tests, and pass their board exams. Over 1,200 board-style practice questions written for Medical Laboratory Science Review test students'' knowledge and understanding of what they are learning. For instructors, it provides the real-time information they need to monitor, track, and assess their class'' vital signs...their students'' mastery of the content and their critical-thinking and decision-making skills. They''ll be able to easily identify the areas in which students are struggling and intervene quickly in class and on assignments to ensure that they succeed. An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks Davis Edge. Text The perfect review for both MLT and MLS - guaranteed or your money back!* êêêêê Five Stars. "Best book to review for ASCP MLS exam!"--Mirna K., Amazon Reviewer êêêêê A must-have for any CLS student or instructor. "Whether you''re a student or an instructor, this book has amazingly well-constructed MCQs that covers the most important learning objectives in the CLS 6 different specialties. I especially love the comprehensive explanation of the correct answer as well as the explanation of the reasons behind exclusion of other distractors in the MCQ choices."--Amazon Reviewer êêêêêWonderful! I passed and so did 6 classmates of ..." of mine that used this. Loved the explanations on the same page and actually saw very similar questions on the actual board. Recommend this every time someone asks"--Kristi T., Amazon Reviewer Practice, practice, and more practice! This comprehensive resource provides the theoretical and practical knowledge students need to be prepared for classroom tests and certification and licensure examinations. They begin with an overview of test-taking skills and techniques. Then, they build their knowledge with more than 2,100 multiple-choice questions. The bonus quick-reference bookmark, featuring essential normal lab values, lets students cover the answers in the text as they go. It''s the perfect review for both the MLT and MLS! *Money-Back Guarantee: If you are a graduate of an MLT or MLS program accredited in the United States, take the National Certification or State Licensure for the first time, and do not pass after using Medical Laboratory Science Review, 5th Edition, return the book to F.A. Davis Company, Customer Service, 1915 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103. Enclose your original receipt of purchase for the book and a copy of both your official test results notification and your certificate of graduation. We will refund the price you paid for the book. If you have questions, please call 1-800-323-3555.
Call Number: RB38.25 .C574 2019
Modern Blood Banking and Transfusion Practices by êêêêê ASCP requirement. "To pass the ASCP and become a licensed medical lab tech, this text is the ultimate blood bank source for the required classes."--Amazon Reviewer êêêêê Great resource for anyone in a Medical Technology or Medical Laboratory Science Program! I would highly recommend this book!"--Mary L., Amazon Reviewer êêêêê "Amazing legendary book in the field. Helpful for practicing Transfusion Medicine and Hematology." --Zubair S., Amazon Reviewer Join the generations of students who have embarked on successful careers with a firm foundation in the theory and practice of blood banking and transfusion practices. Denise Harmening's classic text teaches you not only how to perform must-know tests and tasks, but to understand the scientific principles behind them. You'll begin with a review of the basic concepts of red blood cell and platelet preservation, genetics, immunology, and molecular biology. Then you'll move to the hows and whys of clinical practice. And, you'll be prepared for new advances in the field.
Call Number: RM172 .M62 2019
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by Get the latest research and easy access to today's most important diagnostic and lab tests! Known for its accuracy, currency, and clear, easy-to-use format, Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference 14th Edition features concise test entries that are arranged alphabetically and reflect the latest in diagnostic and lab testing and research. This new edition adds 15 tests with vital information such as alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. Plus, all related tests are cross-referenced throughout the book to simplify lookup. A compact size, durable cover, and A-to-Z thumb tabs make this market-leading book ideal for everyday use in the classroom and on the job! Alphabetically organized tests offer quick reference with A-to-Z thumb tabs, so you will never have to search for a test by having to first determine its correct category or body system. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows to show increased or decreased test results. Convenient appendix lists tests by body system and test type, making it easy to quickly locate related studies. A durable cover with rounded edges helps prevent the book from being damaged and makes it easier to handle. Each test entry begins on a new page, making tests easy to find. Possible critical values are highlighted to show situations requiring immediate intervention. Icon for patient teaching-related care indicates information that should be shared with patients and their families. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Performance provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure, so you can minimize worry about having to repeat a test due to an error. Abbreviations for tests are listed in the back of the book, and symbols and units of measurement are listed in an appendix. Cross-referencing of related tests makes them easy to find. NEW! Test entries include the latest diagnostic tests and laboratory procedures, featuring 10 new monographs and 15 additional tests. NEW! Content reflects the latest research on the diagnostic values of results, accuracy of testing, and patient care and education for each test. NEW! Common Reference Ranges section added to the Inside Front Cover material.
Call Number: RB38.2 .P337 2019
Tietz Fundamentals of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics by Get the foundational knowledge you need to successfully work in a real-world, clinical lab with Tietz Fundamentals of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics, 8th Edition. From highly respected clinical chemistry expert Nader Rifai, this condensed, easier-to-understand version of the acclaimed Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics uses a laboratory perspective to guide you through selecting and performing diagnostic lab tests and accurately evaluating the results. Coverage includes laboratory principles, analytical techniques, instrumentation, analytes, pathophysiology, and more. This eighth edition features new clinical cases from The Coakley Collection, new questions from The Deacon's Challenge of Biochemical Calculations Collection, plus new content throughout the text to ensure you stay ahead of all the latest techniques, instrumentation, and technologies. Condensed version of the clinical chemistry "bible" offers the same authoritative and well-presented content in a much more focused and streamlined manner. Coverage of analytical techniques and instrumentation includes optical techniques, electrochemistry, electrophoresis, chromatography, mass spectrometry, enzymology, immunochemical techniques, microchips, automation, and point of care testing. Updated chapters on molecular diagnostics cover the principles of molecular biology, nucleic acid techniques and applications, and genomes and nucleic acid alterations, reflecting the changes in this rapidly evolving field. Learning objectives, key words, and review questions are included in each chapter to support learning. More than 500 illustrations plus easy-to-read tables help readers better understand and remember key concepts. NEW! Clinical Cases from The Coakley Collection use real-life scenarios to demonstrate how concepts from the text will come in to play in real life practice. NEW! Questions from The Deacon's Challenge of Biochemical Calculations Collection help reinforce concepts and help readers' critical thinking skills. NEW! Updated content throughout the text keeps readers up to date on the latest techniques, instrumentation, and technologies. NEW! New lead author Nader Rifai lends his expertise as the Director of Clinical Chemistry at Children's Hospital in Boston, the Editor-in-Chief of the journal Clinical Chemistry, and a Professor of Pathology at Harvard University.
Call Number: RB40 .F84 2019
Wintrobes Clinical Hematology by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. This extensive title, which combines scientific principles with up-to-date clinical procedures, has been thoroughly updated for the fourteenth edition. You'll find in-depth material on the biology and pathophysiology of lymphomas, leukemias, platelet destruction, and other hematological disorders as well as the procedures for diagnosing and treating them. -Combines the biology and pathophysiology of hematology as well as the diagnosis and treatment of commonly encountered hematological disorders in one volume. -Access the latest knowledge in genetics and genomics -eBook features 300 online self-assessment questions for reviewing material and preparing for Board exams. -Packed with more than 1,500 tables and figures. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience -Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. -Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RB145 .W74 2019