Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Q&A Review by The only book designed specifically to prepare students for the Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (AG-ACNP) exams, this unparalleled review details the step-by-step journey from classroom to patient room and beyond. This book begins with proven test-taking strategies for students and provides an overview of common pitfalls for exam takers. It features question styles and content material from both the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN(R)) and American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) exams, providing an overview of the certification exams written specifically by the certification organizations themselves. With more than 630 unique questions, this review contains completely up-to-date and evidence-based exam preparation. Practice questions are organized into body system review, special populations, and legal/ethical issues, and culminate in a 175-question practice test that represents the length, variety, and complexity of board exam questions. All questions' answers have accompanying rationales based on clinical practice guidelines. Completely unique to this publication, the last section of Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Q&A Review guides one through the next steps after the exam--how to progress into practice with your new certification. KEY FEATURESOver 630 practice questions with answers and rationalesThe only current book publication designed specifically to prepare students for the AG-ACNP examsContains the most current information and practice using published guidelinesExam tips and perils/pitfalls to avoid in test-takingIncludes free access to interactive ebook and Q&A app--track and sync your progress on up to three devices
Call Number: RC954 .A38 2019
Advanced Practice Nursing in the Care of Older Adults by Meet the diverse health care needs of older adults! Explore effective ways to enhance the wellness and independence of older adults across the wellness-illness continuum, including acute, primary, and long-term care. From an overview of the theories of aging and assessment through the treatment of disorders, including complex illnesses, this evidence-based book provides the comprehensive gerontological coverage you need to prepare for your role as an Advanced Practice Nurse. You'll be prepared for boards and for practice. See what students and practitioners are saying online... Five Stars "To the point resources on geriatric conditions/syndroms. Very easy to read/access the content you need...bulleted and formatted for quick reference. Helpful sections on evidence-based guidelines."--Ben Should be titled "GET THIS BOOK NOW!" "GREAT book for my new job...I've been an NP to college students and in urgent care, but this is the first time I've been a nurse practitioner for a geriatric house call practice and this book is perfect. I am really enjoying the format, the timely and research backed treatment protocols and the compassionate, well written style for advising anyone in the business of taking care of old folks! This is a must-read for all medical people but is especially suited to a Geriatric NP or Family Practice NP who see elderly patients regularly."--Amazon Reviewer
Call Number: RC954 .K46 2019
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care: Working with Diverse and Vulnerable Populations by Newly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice. As representatives of specific cultural, racial, ethnic, and sociopolitical groups, nurses bring their own values, beliefs, and attitudes to all interactions with patients and with one another. Whether or not nurses choose to make their attitudes explicit, these attitudes ultimately influence the quality of care they provide to patients. The content of this book is grounded in the Staircase Model, which builds upon the nurse's own self-assessment to identify personal limitations, find strategies to improve cultural competence, and progress to the next level. This text features case scenarios that apply the process of cultural competence to different healthcare situations. What's NewThree New ChaptersChapter 12: Caring for Patients Who Are Morbidly ObeseChapter 13: Caring for VeteransChapter 14: Caring for ChildrenExpanded content on caring for LGBTQIA communityPowerPoint slides provided for instructors Key FeaturesAddresses AACN competenciesProvides easy-to-follow self-assessment using the Staircase ModelLearning Objectives and Key Terms are identified in each chapterOverview of each chapter provides current information about trends in the United States on the topic under discussionProvides an excellent cultural competency preparation for student nurses in clinical situations as well as for practicing nurses at all levels and areas of nursingPresents content on immigration and transgender individuals
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 K47 2019x
Fundamentals of Nursing: The Art and Science of Person-centered Care by Proven, approachable, and part of a complete nursing fundamentals solution, Fundamentals of Nursing: The Art and Science of Patient-Centered Care, 9th Edition , instills an exceptional foundation for clinical confidence and effective patient-centered care. This bestselling fundamentals solution is easy to read and rich with student-friendly features that help students develop the knowledge and clinical skills to succeed in their nursing education. Trusted content not only details the basics of nursing--health promotion, the use of scientific rationales, and the approved nursing process--but also builds essential patient safety, communication, and critical thinking capabilities. This edition adds new features that encourage reflection, highlight QSEN-related content, and familiarize students with emerging technology they will likely encounter in practice. A new informatics chapter prepares students for their important role working with emerging health information technology and managing patient data. Case-based clinical scenarios put chapter concepts in a realistic context, and content throughout integrates seamlessly with a suite of teaching and learning tools to bring the entire nursing continuum to life and equip students to excel throughout their nursing careers. Features New! Reflective Practice Leading to Personal Learning callouts cultivate a person-centered approach to nursing care. New! Clinical vignettes personalize the clinical application of concepts and integrate with vSim for Nursing for patient-specific reinforcement of commonly encountered scenarios and conditions. New! Technology Alerts familiarize students with emerging devices and software they'll likely encounter in the clinical setting. New! Informatics chapter reflects the increasingly important role of data and information technology in patient care. New! QSEN boxes in every chapter help students ensure compliance with Quality and Safety Education for Nurses competencies. NEW! Legal Alerts help students ensure compliance with important laws and considerations related to clinical practice. New! Watch & Learn Videos clarify key concepts and procedures in engaging detail. Revised! Illustrated Concept Maps engage visual learners, simplify complex topics, and strengthen students' clinical reasoning skills. Case scenarios in each chapter encourage holistic patient care and reflection on critical thinking questions. PICO (patient/problem, intervention, comparison, outcome) displays guide students through a structured, evidence-based approach to answering clinical questions. Concept Mastery Alerts improve students' understanding of potentially confusing topics. Apply Your Critical Thinking features challenge students to think deeply on key concepts. Patient Care Plans and Skills sections outline streamline students' transition from the classroom to clinical practice. NCLEX-style Review Questions ready students for the NCLEX exam experience.
Call Number: RT41 .T396 2019
Midwifery and Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide by Midwifery & Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive review designed to help midwives and women's health nurse practitioners prepare for their certification exams. Based on the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB) and the National Certification Corporation (NCC) test blueprints, it contains nearly 1,000 questions with answers and rationales representing those found on the exams. The Fourth Edition also includes a new chapter on well woman care: menopause and beyond. Midwifery & Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Guide, Fourth Edition is published in partnership with the American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) and endorsed by the National Association of Nurse Practitioners in Women's Health (NPWH). Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook and Navigate 2 TestPrep.
Call Number: RG951 .M53 2018