Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cancer Rehabilitation: Principles and Practice by Praise for the previous edition: "This book is a milestone and must-have for anyone involved in the care of those with cancer." --American Journal of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation "This reference provides a comprehensive, pragmatic approach for physical medicine physicians; speech, occupational, and physical therapists; and nurses with cancer survivor responsibilities... A]ny cancer program with significant rehabilitation services will find this a useful addition to its library." --JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association) This completely revised second edition of the gold-standard reference on cancer rehabilitation provides a state-of-the-art overview of the principles of cancer care and best practices for restoring function and quality of life to cancer survivors. Authored by some of the world's leading cancer rehabilitation experts and oncology specialists, the book opens with primer-level discussions of the various cancer types and their assessment and management, including potential complications, as a foundation for providing safe and effective rehabilitation. Subsequent sections thoroughly explore the identification, evaluation, and treatment of specific impairments and disabilities that result from cancer and the treatment of cancer. Designed to serve the needs of the entire medical team, this singular resource is intended for any clinician working with cancer survivors to improve function and quality of life. With several new chapters on topics such as inpatient cancer rehabilitation, pediatric oncology, research issues, and barriers to accessing cancer rehabilitation and building a cancer rehabilitation program, the book keeps pace with recent advances in the growing field of cancer rehabilitation. This new edition features updates throughout and expansions to major topics, including imaging in cancer and key disorders such as aromatase inhibitor-induced arthralgias. Presenting the most current medical, clinical, and rehabilitation intelligence, this is a mandatory reference for anyone in the field. Key Features: New edition of the only contemporary comprehensive text covering the field of cancer rehabilitationRevised and updated to reflect current knowledge, practice, and emerging topicsCovers essential aspects of oncology and medical complications of cancer to inform rehabilitation decisions and strategiesProvides state-of-the-art reviews on all major topics in cancer rehabilitation, including pain assessment and management, neuromuscular and musculoskeletal dysfunction, neurologic, and general rehabilitation issues13 new chapters and expanded coverage of signature areasKey points are provided for each chapter to reinforce learningDigital access to the ebook included
Call Number: RC262 .C3624 2019
Clinical Reasoning in Musculoskeletal Practice by Clinical reasoning is a key skill underpinning clinical expertise. Clinical Reasoning in Musculoskeletal Practice is essential reading for the musculoskeletal practitioner to gain the contemporary knowledge and thinking capacity necessary to advance their reasoning skills. Now in its 2nd edition, it is the only all-in-one volume of up-to-date clinical reasoning knowledge with real-world case examples illustrating expert clinical reasoning. This new edition includes: . Comprehensively updated material and brand new chapters on pain science, psychosocial factors, and clinical prediction rules. . The latest clinical reasoning theory and practical strategies for learning and facilitating clinical reasoning skills. . Cutting-edge pain research and relevant psychosocial clinical considerations made accessible for the musculoskeletal practitioner. . The role of clinical prediction rules in musculoskeletal clinical reasoning. . 25 all new real-world, clinical cases by internationally renowned expert clinicians allowing you to compare your reasoning to that of the best.
Call Number: RM701 .C597 2019
Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation: Musculoskeletal Disorders, Pain, and Rehabilitation by Packed with practical, up-to-date guidance, Essentials of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 4th Edition, by Walter R. Frontera, MD, PhD; Julie K. Silver, MD; and Thomas D. Rizzo, Jr., MD, helps you prevent, diagnose, and treat a wide range of musculoskeletal disorders, pain syndromes, and chronic disabling conditions in day-to-day patient care. This easy-to-use reference provides the information you need to improve patient function and performance by using both traditional and cutting-edge therapies, designing effective treatment plans, and working with interdisciplinary teams that meet your patients' current and changing needs. An easy-to-navigate format provides quick access to concise, well-illustrated coverage of every essential topic in the field. Presents each topic in a consistent, quick-reference format that includes a description of the condition, discussion of symptoms, examination findings, functional limitations, and diagnostic testing. An extensive treatment section covers initial therapies, rehabilitation interventions, procedures, and surgery. Contains new technology sections in every treatment area where recently developed technologies or devices have been added to the therapeutic and rehabilitation strategies, including robotic exoskeletons, wearable sensors, and more. Provides extensive coverage of hot topics in regenerative medicine, such as stem cells and platelet rich plasma (PRP), as well as a new chapter on abdominal wall pain. Delivers the knowledge and insights of several new, expert authors for innovative perspectives in challenging areas. Offers a clinically-focused, affordable, and focused reference for busy clinicians, as well as residents in need of a more accessible and targeted resource. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RM700 .E84 2019
Evidence Based Physical Therapy by "This book then is an essential bridge to assist theapplication of EBP to physiotherapy. Dr. Fetters and Dr. Tilson have donean excellent job in describing the fundamentals of EBP, and expertly adaptingthem to the needs of physiotherapists using everyday clinical examples toillustrate the processes. Using this book will help in learning thesevital skills for 21st century practice." -- Paul Glasziou, Professor, Centre for Research inEvidence-Based Practice, Bond University, Australia Improve outcomes through evidence-based therapy. This practical, easy-to-use guide uses a five-step process to show you how to find, appraise, and apply the research in the literature to meet your patient's goals. You'll learn how to develop evidence-based questions specific to your clinical decisions and conduct efficient and effective searches of print and online sources to identify the most relevant and highest quality evidence. Then, you'll undertake a careful appraisal of the information; interpret the research; and synthesize the results to generate valid answers to your questions. And, finally, you'll use the Critically Appraised Topic (CAT) tool to communicate your findings. See what practitioners and students are saying about the previous edition... Great resource for applying evidence to practice. "The book is very clearly written with clinical examples, and in-depth questions. If you want a comprehensive book on statistics this is not the book for you, but it is an easily understandable introduction to physical therapy research which will help you to interpret the literature and apply it to your patients." Five Stars. "This book is a must have for those just being introduced to EBP and research in physical therapy."
Call Number: RM701 .F48 2019
Management of Neck Pain Disorders: A Research Informed Approach by Written by world renowned researchers and clinicians in the field, Management of Neck Pain Disorders provides a comprehensive insight into the nature of neck pain disorders within a biopsychosocial context to inform clinical reasoning in the management of persons with neck pain. Emphasising a patient centred approach, this book practically applies knowledge from research to inform patient assessment and management. It also provides practical information and illustrations to assist clinicians to develop treatment programs with and for their patients with neck pain. The book covers: . Current issues and debates in the field of neck pain disorders . Research informing best practice assessment and management . Biological, psychological and social features which need to be considered when assessing and developing a management program with the patient . A multimodal conservative management approach, which addresses the presenting episode of pain as well as rehabilitation strategies towards prevention of recurrent episodes.
Call Number: RC936 .J85 2019x
National Physical Therapy Examination and Board Review by A fresh, new student-friendly physical therapy board review text National Physical Therapy Exam Review provides students with an outstanding review of entry level physical therapy concepts and principles. Following the human movement system and component elements such as anatomic structure and physiological function , the text is enhanced by innovative pedagogy and 1,000 questions (in print and online) that simulate the Physical Therapy Blueprint Practice Exam. Throughout the book, there is an emphasis on clinical application necessary to ensure safe and effective patient care. *Follows the APTA's new vision which optimizes movement to improve the human experience *1,000 exam review questions (in print and online) *Numerous figures and tables *Pedagogy includes key terms, skill keeper questions (which prompt students to review previous material), clinical scenarios, and chapter-ending questions
Call Number: RM701.6 .B87 2019
Physical Management for Neurological Conditions by Following the success of the previous three editions, Physical Management for Neurological Conditions 4th edition remains the most up-to-date evidence-based textbook for undergraduate students and qualified health professionals. Written by an international team of clinicians and researchers, it is applicable to a number of healthcare systems, with a special focus on physiotherapy. New chapters have been added to cover both common and rare conditions, such as hereditary disorders, functional motor disorders, and neuromuscular diseases. Together with the Pocketbook of Neurological Physiotherapy, it covers all essential components and conditions. Comprehensive and handy reference on physical management and movement limitations, suitable to any health care context and environment Use of eclectic approach which focuses on selecting the appropriate evidence-based tools to assess and treat neurological conditions without subscribing to any specific treatment approaches International case studies are presented to provide worldwide scientific evidence Fully revised by international contributors with the inclusion of 8 new chapters covering: Common impairments Inherited neurological disorders Complex case management Virtual reality and interactive gaming technologies
Call Number: RC350.P48 P49 2018x
Physical Rehabilitation by êêêêê This book is every Physical Therapy Students Bible. If ... "you purchase this book during your first semester of PT school, it will help you immensely! Don't wait until Neuro PT to purchase this book. Use this book as a guide for every PT class from Integumentary to Pediatrics to Neuroanatomy!"--Amazon Reviewer êêêêê A must-have for all PT's, PTA's and PT/PTA students... "Basically Wikipedia for physical therapy only has a lot more specific information pertaining to client/patient care and doesn't require a computer."--Alex N., Amazon Reviewer êêêêê Five Stars. "This book is very comprehensive and contains almost everything you need to know for the NPTE exam."--Laura M., Amazon Reviewer Rely on this comprehensive, curriculum-spanning text and reference now and throughout your career! You'll find everything you need to know about the rehabilitation management of adult patients... from integrating basic surgical, medical, and therapeutic interventions to how to select the most appropriate evaluation procedures, develop rehabilitation goals, and implement a treatment plan. Online you'll find narrated, full-color video clips of patients in treatment, including the initial examination, interventions, and outcomes for a variety of the conditions commonly seen in rehabilitation settings.
Call Number: RM700 .O88 2019
Principles of Rehabilitation Medicine by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A concise, expertly written overview of physical medicine and rehabilitation --- from leaders in the field Principles of Rehabilitation Medicine is comprehensive and authoritative review for the specialty of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. The book offers a wide array of chapters with complete reviews of classical rehabilitation topics such as brain injury, spinal cord injury, stroke, pain management and electrodiagnostic medicine. Additionally, there is in-depth coverage of musculoskeletal medicine, pediatric rehabilitation and sports. An expansive first section reviews fundamental knowledge essential to the basic rehabilitation assessment. Chapters reflect cutting edge topics in the field such as: *Regenerative medicine *Rehabilitation of the veteran *Rehabilitation of the polytrauma patient *Hand rehabilitation *Ethics *Rehabilitation in pregnancy *Sexual rehabilitation *Rehabilitation of the injured worker *Rehabilitation issues in the developing world *Rehabilitation at the end of life Chapters are authored by proven leaders in the field with a focus on pathophysiology, diagnosis and rehabilitative management. Information is presented in a clear, concise manner, with direct patient applications. The text is complemented by numerous figures, tables and patient care algorithms which are designed to confer a basic understanding of principles.
Call Number: RM701.6 .P75 2019x
Therapeutic Exercise Prescription by Dunleavy and Slowik's Therapeutic Exercise Prescription delivers on everything you need from a core therapeutic exercise text. This all-new, full-color text combines evidence-based content, theoretical concepts, AND practical application to provide a robust understanding of therapeutic exercise. Using an approachable, easy-to-follow writing style, it introduces foundational concepts, discusses how to choose the right exercises, and guides you in developing goals for treatment. Coverage also includes the examination process and specific ways to choose, monitor, and evaluate the most effective exercise. Each exercise in the text is presented with progressions - a unique feature that's exclusive to this title - to give you an understanding of how the exercise(s) may change from the initial phase of exercise prescription to the functional recovery stage. In addition to its highly-digestible format, this text also boasts case studies, practical discussions, and engaging online videos to provide you with the most dynamic and effective learning experience. UNIQUE! Clinical reasoning approach to exercise selection, modification, instruction, and progression provides a framework to help you master all aspects of therapeutic exercise, from the initial exercise prescription to the functional recovery stage. Emphasis on patient safety and precautions includes the use of the ICF model, as well as coverage of tissue healing and biometrics. UNIQUE! Clinical case examples provide practical examples in a succinct compare and contrast format to help you build clinical reasoning skills and learn to apply theory to practice. Full case studies cover all the regions of the body as well as each of the mobility-, trauma-, and psychologically-informed concepts. Discussion questions and answers at the end of each case study and at the end each chapter help you assimilate and use your existing knowledge and help prepare you for the types of critical thinking you will be required to do in practice. UNIQUE! Integrated content builds from foundational concepts, with reinforcement throughout the book using illustrations and explanations of important concepts. UNIQUE! Discussion of broad categories, such as extremes of mobility impairments, types of trauma, and presence of psychological impairments, strengthen your understanding. UNIQUE! Detailed exercise depictions include teaching tips with instruction examples, common errors to correct, and methods to prevent or address compensations. UNIQUE! Workbook format features comprehensive coverage of exercise examples with alternatives and progressions.
Call Number: RM725 .D865 2019x