eBooks
Acute Pancreatitis : A Practical Guide for Clinicians by
This book is an accessible, evidence-based, succinct and practical reference for those providing hands-on care to patients with acute pancreatitis. It represents the most updated results of clinical science and offers the frameworks that underpin the disease and its management. The first part of the book presents the latest clinical science and illustrates a clear indication of what is known, and what are the gaps in our understanding of the disease. The second part provides practical clinical management guidelines. The chapters are designed to bring recommendations, practical points to facilitate navigation, easy access of knowledge, and highlights key decision points and options. Acute Pancreatitis - A Practical Guide for Clinicians is relevant to not only clinicians involved in patient care but medical, nursing and dietitian students, surgical and gastroenterology researchers, companies and agencies. The book comprehensively covers acute pancreatitis, associating it with local pancreatic complications, systemic inflammation and organ failures, also providing management algorithms. This practical reference book is an introduction to disease management, indicating why topics addressed in each chapter are essential, providing valuable guidance for day-to-day treatment by professionals globally.
ISBN: 9789819731329
Advanced Drug Delivery Systems for Colonic Disorders by
Advanced Drug Delivery Systems for Colonic Disorders presents state-of-the-art methods for targeted drug delivery to the colon. These methods can prolong drug half-lives, improve bioavailability, optimize pharmacokinetics, and reduce medication dosing frequency. Chapters allow readers to not only become familiar with advancements, but also understand concepts by providing illustrations, figures, and informative tables. Contents cover an overview of colonic diseases, the cellular and molecular mechanisms involved, current and traditional therapeutic approaches, biomaterials, oral drug delivery methods, targeted drug delivery, nutraceuticals and herbal medicine approaches, prebiotics, probiotics and symbiotics, nanomedicine approaches, and the status of clinical trials. This book is the perfect resources for researchers in pharma, biomaterials, and nutrition to help familiarize them with new and upcoming therapeutic methods. Research physicians in GI can also benefit from reading this book for its clinical applications.
ISBN: 9780443140440Publication Date: 2023-11-07
Barrett's Esophagus by
Barrett's Esophagus: Emerging Evidence for Improved Clinical Practice is a comprehensive reference on the treatment and new imaging modalities of Barrett's Esophagus for researchers, clinicians, and scholars. Each chapter is composed from the perspective of investigators who summarize the data as well as the reasoning behind why those studies were conceived. In addition, the future directions of research are discussed within each chapter, providing insights from the investigators. Research questions are described, and cutting-edge applications are explained. Each chapter contains clinical scenarios to highlight the directions in which the research is, and should be, heading.
ISBN: 9780128025116Publication Date: 2016-03-29
Clinical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy by
Now thoroughly up-to-date both in print and online, Clinical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy, 3rd Edition, by Drs. Vinay Chandrasekhara, Mouen Khashab, B. Joseph Elmunzer, and V. Raman Muthusamy, ensures that you stay current with the latest technology and techniques in GI endoscopy. An all-new editorial team, newly updated videos and images, and a reorganized format make this reference an easy-to-use source of reliable information on a full range of topics, including anatomy, pathophysiology, and therapeutic management options, in addition to the latest GI procedures and technologies. Offers state-of-the-art coverage of bariatric surgery, therapeutic EUS, device-assisted enteroscopy, image-guided therapy, intramural endotherapy, and much more. Features 100 updated videos with author voiceovers, as well as 1,000 revised photographs, endoscopic images, and anatomical drawings. Provides a fresh perspective and expert guidance from an entirely new editorial team. Includes many more references per chapter, as well as further references online. Presents material in a newly restructured, organ-based format for quick reference. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Dysphagia: Diagnosis and Treatment of Esophageal Motility Disorders by
Dysphagia: Diagnosis and Treatment of Esophageal Motility Disorders provides a interdisciplinary overview of the diagnosis and management of dysphagia and other esophageal symptoms. All aspects of dysphagia are covered, with detailed consideration of both physiology and evaluation methods. Hot topics include coverage on the pharmacological causes of dysphagia, the physiology of normal swallowing, ambulatory pH monitoring as well as recurrent dysphagia after treatments. The content is grounded in evidence-based medicine that is the result of clinical outcome research, both prospective and randomized, making this the perfect reference for clinical researchers and a go-to for general surgeons, foreguts surgeons, thoracic surgeons and gastroenterologists.
ISBN: 9780323998659Publication Date: 2023-01-11
Gastrointestinal Physiology by
Gain a foundational understanding of gastrointestinal physiology and how the GI system functions in health and disease. Gastrointestinal Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, Clinical Concept boxes, highlighted key words and concepts, chapter summaries, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam. Keeps you current with recent advances in gastrointestinal physiology with coverage of the physiological significance of gastrointestinal peptides; the regulation of mucosal growth and cancer; details surrounding acid secretion and peptic ulcers; and more. Includes clear, 2-color diagrams that simplify complex concepts. Features clinical commentaries that show you how to apply what you've learned to real-life clinical situations. Covers the regulation of pancreatic secretion and gallbladder contraction; the transport processes for the absorption of nutrients; facts about fat absorption; and the regulation of food intake. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. Blaustein, Kao, & Matteson: Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology Cloutier: Respiratory Physiology Koeppen & Stanton: Renal Physiology Pappano & Weir: Cardiovascular Physiology White, Harrison, & Mehlmann: Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach
eBooks
The Gut-Brain Axis, 2d ed. by
The Gut-Brain Axis: Dietary, Probiotic, and Prebiotic Interventions on the Microbiota, Second Edition presents the most advances on how the gut microbiome influences central nervous system and brain function introduced in the first edition. The book also describes how environmental influences which affect the microbiota, including, diet, exercise, and early-life, impact on the gut-brain axis. The second edition contains new chapters on metabolomics and the gut-brain-axis; dietary factors in the maintenance of a healthy brain ; the role of gut microbes in neurodegenerative disorders; the link between exercise and the gut-brain-axis; and infant Nutrition, the microbiome and neurodevelopment. In addition, the second edition presents coverage of mechanisms underlying neurological disease; approaches to investigate the role of the microbiome in brain and behavior, and 'next generation' probiotics and prebiotics. The Gut-Brain Axis: Dietary, Probiotic, and Prebiotic Interventions on the Microbiota, Second Edition continues to be the "go-to" resource for further exploration of the microbiota. Includes five new chapters focused on metabolomics and the gut-brain axis; dietary polyphenols to maintain healthier brain measures and cognitive function; the role of gut microbes in neurodegenerative disorders, exploration of exercise and the gut-brain axis, and coverage of infant nutrition, the microbiome, and neurodevelopment Addresses the role of the microbiota in several significant disorders characterized by disruption of the gut-brain axis Focuses on specific ways by which the microbiota can be manipulated to influence gut-brain communication Examines common mechanisms and pathways by which the microbiota may influence brain and behavior and how environmental factors influence the microbiome Discusses strategies to explore the contribution of the microbiome to the gut-brain axis; methods to enhance therapeutic strategies targeted toward the microbiota; and regulatory consideration
ISBN: 9780323983020Publication Date: 2023-12-07
Handbook of Gastrointestinal Motility and Disorders of Gut-Brain Interactions by
Handbook of Gastrointestinal Motility and Disorders of Gut-Brain Interactions, Second Edition fills the void in GI literature for a short and concise go-to book for disorders of GI motility and gut and brain interactions. This exceptionally illustrated reference contains all the information needed for the latest knowledge on adults as well as adolescent and pediatric GI motility disorders, each systematically arranged by disorder and gut anatomy for easy reference. Each chapter includes extensive color pictures of each test as well as descriptions of how to perform and interpret the motility tests and how to incorporate them into patient care decisions. Current advances in the field have led the way for new updates. A new section dedicated to systemic disorders and special topics, including gut autonomic disorders, cannabis and the gut, eating disorders, pediatric and adolescent disorders, nutritional therapies, and psychological management is included. This is the perfect book for those who encounter the common problems of dysphagia, heartburn, nausea, vomiting, gastroparesis, abdominal pain, gas and bloating, irritable bowel syndrome, constipation, and fecal incontinence and rare disorders in daily practice, including practicing physicians, gastroenterologists, motility laboratory personnel, surgeons and internists Provides a user-friendly style that reviews the latest and most up-to-date information on the evaluation of symptoms and diagnostic tests of GI motility and gut and brain interactions Presents a practical approach to the diagnosis of common and obscure disorders Discusses the latest options on management and therapy and explains how to integrate diagnostic information into decision-making and translate this into day-to-day patient care
Interventional Inflammatory Bowel Disease: Endoscopic Management and Treatment of Complications by
Interventional Inflammatory Bowel Diseases: Endoscopic Management and Treatment of Complications covers the preparation, principle, techniques, and damage control of complications in endoscopic therapy, providing the ultimate guidance in endoscopic management of IBD. With contributions from a panel of international leading experts in the field, perspectives are included from GI pathologists, GI radiologists, gastroenterologists, advanced endoscopists, IBD specialists and colorectal surgeons. Recommendations from experts are also included within each chapter. By bridging medical and surgical treatment modalities for IBD, this is the perfect reference for GI researchers, medical students, therapeutic GI endoscopists, IBD specialists, surgeons and advanced health care providers.
The Liver: Biology and Pathobiology, 6th ed. by
Bridging the gap between basic scientific advances and the understanding of liver disease -- the extensively revised new edition of the premier text in the field. The latest edition of The Liver: Biology and Pathobiology remains a definitive volume in the field of hepatology, relating advances in biomedical sciences and engineering to understanding of liver structure, function, and disease pathology and treatment. Contributions from leading researchers examine the cell biology of the liver, the pathobiology of liver disease, the liver's growth, regeneration, metabolic functions, and more. Now in its sixth edition, this classic text has been exhaustively revised to reflect new discoveries in biology and their influence on diagnosing, managing, and preventing liver disease. Seventy new chapters -- including substantial original sections on liver cancer and groundbreaking advances that will have significant impact on hepatology -- provide comprehensive, fully up-to-date coverage of both the current state and future direction of hepatology. Topics include liver RNA structure and function, gene editing, single-cell and single-molecule genomic analyses, the molecular biology of hepatitis, drug interactions and engineered drug design, and liver disease mechanisms and therapies. Edited by globally-recognized experts in the field, this authoritative volume: Relates molecular physiology to understanding disease pathology and treatment Links the science and pathology of the liver to practical clinical applications Features 16 new "Horizons" chapters that explore new and emerging science and technology Includes plentiful full-color illustrations and figures The Liver: Biology and Pathobiology, Sixth Edition is an indispensable resource for practicing and trainee hepatologists, gastroenterologists, hepatobiliary and liver transplant surgeons, and researchers and scientists in areas including hepatology, cell and molecular biology, virology, and drug metabolism.
ISBN: 9781119436836Publication Date: 2020-01-22
The Liver in Systemic Disease by
The Liver in Systemic Disease A practical guide for non-hepatologists who encounter abnormal liver test results in patients The Liver in Systemic Disease is an easy-to-use and authoritative guide for non-hepatologist health care professionals who need guidance on the management of patients with abnormal liver tests. The book provides definitive advice for when further investigation, or changes in management, are indicated. With a practical focus throughout the text, the editors explore when and how to investigate and manage patients whose primary disease is non-hepatic, but whose liver tests are unexpectedly abnormal. The Liver in Systemic Disease provides substantial flow diagrams and advice on the process, together with updates on the liver diseases non-hepatologists are most likely to encounter. Take-home primers included in the book shine a light on best practice and recommended procedures when dealing with abnormal liver test results. The book also provides: A thorough introduction to evaluate the liver, including serum liver tests, liver imaging, and liver biopsy Comprehensive discussions of practical issues in patients with liver abnormalities, including the diagnosis of drug induced liver injury, prescribing in patients with abnormal liver tests, and more Practical discussions of the management of patients with unexplained abnormal liver tests in primary care In-depth examinations of secondary care management of patients with unexplained abnormal liver tests, including intensive care, and the care of infectious and immunosuppressed patients The Liver in Systemic Disease is an indispensable resource for non-hepatologist medical practitioners seeking to understand the implications of abnormal liver tests and who wish to know when further investigation or alteration of management is indicated.
ISBN: 9781119802167Publication Date: 2022-10-14
eBooks
Need-To-Know NAFLD by
Nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) is the hepatic manifestation of the obesity and metabolic syndrome epidemics, which this up-to-date book deals with comprehensively. The contents outline disease mechanisms, diagnostic tests, management, varying manifestations, and special populations. It covers the mechanistic pathways that contribute to NAFLD development, including the role of genetic variants and the gut microbiome. It elaborates on noninvasive diagnostic tests to screen for NAFLD, determine its severity, and monitor response to lifestyle intervention and pharmacologic treatment. This book helps clinicians diagnose and treat this common and potentially deadly disease. Key Features: Reviews current drugs in development and provides practical advice to clinicians on the diagnosis and management of fatty liver. Proves attractive to primary care providers who are on the front line of managing patients with NAFLD, to gastroenterologists and hepatologists who would benefit from updated data on how to risk-stratify patients and identify those who will be eligible for pharmacologic treatment, and other specialists such as cardiologists, endocrinologists, and nephrologists who will find this book to be a useful reference on the extrahepatic manifestations of NAFLD. Focuses on extrahepatic manifestations and new insights on the mechanistic drivers of the disease.
ISBN: 9781000928662Publication Date: 2023-09-14
Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract by
Physiology of the Gastrointestinal Tract, Sixth Edition, a Two-Volume set, covers the study of the mechanical, physical and biochemical functions of the GI Tract by linking clinical disease and disorder, thus bridging the gap between clinical and laboratory medicine while also covering breakthroughs in gastroenterology, such as the brain-gut axis and microbiome. Additionally, information is provided at the organism level, including animal models of gastrointestinal disorders and therapeutic possibilities. The book covers a wide range of conditions, from food allergies, constipation, chronic liver disease and IBS, also exploring emerging techniques to diagnose and normalize functions of the GI tract. As a highly referenced book, this is a useful resource for gastroenterologists, physiologists, internists, professional researchers and instructors teaching courses for clinical and research students.
