Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews Gastroenterology and Hepatology | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overviews
Decision Making in Gastroenterology by
We are excited to present this first edition of “Decision-Making in Gastroenterology”. This new book delves into several important topics in gastroenterology and presents them in the form of a flowchart followed by accompanying text. Flowcharts offer many advantages for medical decision-making, whether it is related to the diagnosis of an underlying etiology of a clinical presentation, or to the management of a specific disorder. The visual demonstration of the flowchart can present complex, multi-step information in a clear and organized manner, making it easier to understand the sequence of steps involved in decision-making. Flowcharts also offer a standardized approach to the diagnosis and treatment of gastrointestinal conditions, reducing errors and oversights in decision-making. The accompanying text is divided into paragraphs that correlate with decision points to clarify the specific steps in the medical decision pathway, and to supplement the flowchart with important caveats and considerations.
We acknowledge that the diagnosis and management of many gastrointestinal conditions do not conform to a universal approach that can be summarized in a flowchart. The diagnosis and treatment of gastrointestinal disorders can be complex and should be managed on a case-by-case basis, relying on a physician’s experience, patient’s preference, and the availability of diagnostic tests and treatment options. In this book, we aim to present an overall framework to provide practical and evidence-based strategies for the diagnosis and treatment of common gastrointestinal disorders. We hope that readers find this book useful in their studies and in clinical practice, and we encourage them to reach out to the authors or to the publisher with any feedback.
ISBN: 9780323932462
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Integrated searching of international drug reference resources from DrugDex, PoisIndex, PDR, Martindale's Extrapharmacopoiea, USP DI, ReproRisk, Material Safety Data Sheets, Index Nominum, and Lab Advisor.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
- VisualDx This link opens in a new window Aids in the point of care identification of dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional and occupational diseases, benign and malignant growths, drug-induced conditions, and other injuries.
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyGastrointestinal
- GuidelineCentralGastroenterology
- UpToDateGastroenterology and Hepatology
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Guidelines
- American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)Gastrointestinal Cancer
- ClinicalKeyGastroenterology
- GuidelineCentralHepatology
- UpToDate Society GuidelinesGastroenterology and Hepatology
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Core eBooks
Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease by
For nearly 50 years, Sleisenger & Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease has been the go-to reference for gastroenterology and hepatology residents, fellows, physicians, and the entire GI caregiving team. Now in a fully revised 11th Edition, this two-volume masterwork brings together the knowledge and expertise of hundreds of global experts who keep you up to date with the newest techniques, technologies, and treatments for every clinical challenge you face in gastroenterology and hepatology. A logical organization, more than 1,100 full-color illustrations, and easy-to-use algorithms ensure that you'll quickly and easily find the information you need. Features new and expanded discussions of chronic hepatitis B and C, Helicobacter pylori infection, colorectal cancer prevention through screening and surveillance, biologic agents and novel small molecules to treat and prevent recurrences of inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), gastrointestinal immune and autoimmune diseases, and more. Offers reliable coverage of key topics such as Barrett's esophagus, gut microbiome, enteric microbiota and probiotics, fecal microbiota transplantation, and hepatic, pancreatic, and small bowel transplantation. Provides more quick-reference algorithms that summarize clinical decision making and practical approaches to patient management. Employs a consistent, templated, format throughout for quick retrieval of information. Includes monthly updates online, as well as more than 20 procedural videos. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Greenberger's CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy, Fourth Edition by
From a Harvard Medical School dream team--the most important insights on managing digestive and hepatic diseases in the palm of your hand Presented in a streamlined, templated style that makes learning and retaining key information effortless, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Endoscopy, Fourth Edition offers authoritative insights for accurately diagnosing and effectively treating digestive tract and liver disorders. This peerless guide delivers authoritative coverage of the entire spectrum of gastroenterology and hepatology conditions, from stomach and esophageal to pancreatic and liver disorders, with very chapter outlining the essentials of diagnosis for each condition. Logically organized, the book begins with a section on general concerns, such as acute abdominal pain, and progresses to specific disease categories. High-yield overview of an effective treatment approach for chronic hepatitis C provides key perspectives on improving patient outcomes. Features 90+ full-color endoscopic and radiographic images enhance clinical decision-making and clarify imaging techniques Essentials of Diagnosis provide at-a-glance review of both common and rare digestive disorder Updated references to recently-published clinically relevant articles Includes continued coverage of the revised national guidelines
Handbook of Liver Disease by
Well-organized and vibrantly illustrated throughout, Handbook of Liver Disease is a comprehensive yet concise handbook providing authoritative guidance on key clinical issues in liver disease. The quick-reference outline format ensures that you'll find answers when you need them, and cover-to-cover updates keep you abreast of the recent rapid changes in the field. Written by leading international experts in hepatology, this reference is ideal for hepatologists, gastroenterologists, internists, family practitioners, trainees, and others who diagnose and manage patients with liver disorders. Uses a highly templated outline format, key points in each chapter, alert symbols, and highlighted review points to provide a "just the facts" approach to daily clinical questions on liver disease. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Features expanded hepatitis chapters, including completely updated coverage of new, safe, and effective oral regimens for the treatment of hepatitis C. Provides completely updated coverage of: alcoholic liver disease * autoimmune hepatitis * portal hypertension * primary biliary cholangitis * hepatic tumors * cirrhosis * nonalcoholic liver disease * liver transplantation * and more. Includes the latest information on adolescents with liver disease moving into adult care. Covers the revised criteria for prioritizing liver transplantation using the MELDNa score, new options for the treatment of hepatocellular carcinoma, and improved management of hepatorenal syndrome.
The Liver in Systemic Disease by
The Liver in Systemic Disease A practical guide for non-hepatologists who encounter abnormal liver test results in patients The Liver in Systemic Disease is an easy-to-use and authoritative guide for non-hepatologist health care professionals who need guidance on the management of patients with abnormal liver tests. The book provides definitive advice for when further investigation, or changes in management, are indicated. With a practical focus throughout the text, the editors explore when and how to investigate and manage patients whose primary disease is non-hepatic, but whose liver tests are unexpectedly abnormal. The Liver in Systemic Disease provides substantial flow diagrams and advice on the process, together with updates on the liver diseases non-hepatologists are most likely to encounter. Take-home primers included in the book shine a light on best practice and recommended procedures when dealing with abnormal liver test results. The book also provides: A thorough introduction to evaluate the liver, including serum liver tests, liver imaging, and liver biopsy Comprehensive discussions of practical issues in patients with liver abnormalities, including the diagnosis of drug induced liver injury, prescribing in patients with abnormal liver tests, and more Practical discussions of the management of patients with unexplained abnormal liver tests in primary care In-depth examinations of secondary care management of patients with unexplained abnormal liver tests, including intensive care, and the care of infectious and immunosuppressed patients The Liver in Systemic Disease is an indispensable resource for non-hepatologist medical practitioners seeking to understand the implications of abnormal liver tests and who wish to know when further investigation or alteration of management is indicated.
ISBN: 9781119802167Publication Date: 2022-10-14
Pancreas by
ver the last two decades, there have been major advances in imaging, endoscopy, and laparoscopy in the field of gastrointestinal (GI) surgery. GI surgery is the newest sub-specialty branch of general surgery, where enhanced expertise and high-volume centres have made a difference to the outcomes of complex operations. Surgeons can now perform difficult procedures with low morbidity and mortality rates, and greatly improved overall results. This volume provides detailed and comprehensive information on diseases of the pancreas. The pancreas continues to fascinate clinicians and researchers worldwide, due to its anatomical location deep inside the abdominal cavity and the various functions of the gland, some of which are well understood but others remaining ill-defined. Last but certainly not least, pancreatic surgery, along with liver surgery, remains the final frontier for the vast majority of GI and hepato-pancreato-biliary surgeons. The information explosion in this era has resulted in cutting-edge developments in acute pancreatitis, chronic pancreatitis, and pancreatic cancer. Comprising evidence-based contributions from recognized leaders in pancreatology, this book covers contemporary issues in acute and chronic pancreatitis and pancreatic cancer to help practicing surgeons and pancreatologists with the most up to date concepts in management. It will be a valuable resource for pancreas specialists, general surgeons with an interest in pancreatic diseases, researchers, and medical students.
ISBN: 9780192674319
Schiff's Diseases of the Liver by
The most important and reliable resource for treating diseases of the liver For more than 55 years, "Schiff" has been acclaimed as the most outstanding liver book in the world. This new 12th edition brings the field completely up to date and includes a companion website that features a wide-variety of accessory materials. The text is evidence-based to offer hepatologists and gastroenterologists treating patients with liver disease a comprehensive and essential resource. The text highlights clinical practice and covers anatomy, pathology, testing, imaging, and the effects of liver disease on other organs. The book is written in clear and accessible terms and key features include: Treatment guidelines and management algorithms for every disease Full-color attractive design throughout the text Informative section overviews for each section Concise key concepts box in every chapter A full liver transplant section This 12th edition is thoroughly revised with the latest clinical information. The new edition offers: Information on acute and chronic liver failure and infections in cirrhosis Over 100 MCQs Downloads for Powerpoint(tm) making the content ideal for presentations Schiff's Diseases of the Liver is designed to be a first-stop reference for dealing with today's demanding clinical situations.
The Washington Manual Gastroenterology Subspecialty Consult by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual® Gastroenterology Subspecialty Consult, Fourth Edition, provides essential information on inpatient and outpatient management of common gastrointestinal diseases and disorders. This edition offers state-of-the-art content on disease pathophysiology, diagnostic tools, and management options. Ideal for residents, fellows, and practicing physicians who need quick access to current scientific and clinical information in gastroenterology, the manual is also useful as a first-line resource for internists and other primary care providers. Thoroughly revised content, including a new chapter on obesity, keeps you up to date on gastroenterology topics. A highly templated, bulleted format ensures that you can find what you need quickly and easily. Text covers all aspects of gastroenterology, including liver transplantation, genetic testing in gastrointestinal diseases, nutrition and malnutrition, and much more. Content is written by residents, fellows, and clinical faculty of the distinguished Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. The Washington Manual® is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by Wolters Kluwer Health under license from Washington University.
Zakim and Boyer's Hepatology by
Get the authoritative, up-to-date information you need on liver disease from the 7th Edition of the most trusted reference worldwide. Covering both basic science and recent clinical developments, this revised edition by Drs. Arun J. Sanyal, Thomas D. Boyer, Norah A. Terrault, and Keith D. Lindor, provides an in-depth, comprehensive look at the pathophysiology, diagnostic, and treatment information related to the liver. More than 1,100 figures and tables, many new and in full color, highlight completely updated content throughout. Expert, international authorship and comprehensive, easy-to-access information makes this edition the gold standard in the field of hepatology. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Includes new information on the rapid changes in treatment paradigms for acute liver failure, the latest treatments for primary biliary cholangitis, full coverage of the gut microbiome and its role in liver disease, the newest developments in drug-induced liver injury, and changes in hepatitis C virus treatment and hot-button concerns about access to care. New summary boxes at the end of each chapter and a newly streamlined table of contents make it easier to find and understand the information you're looking for. Hundreds of brand-new illustrations clearly present key aspects of liver disease.
Yamada's Textbook of Gastroenterology, 7th ed. by
YAMADA'S Textbook of Gastroenterology For over 25 years, Yamada's Textbook of Gastroenterology has been the most comprehensive gastroenterology reference book, combining an encyclopedic basic science approach to GI and liver disease with the latest clinical thinking, especially in diagnostic and therapeutic developments. It is universally respected across the globe. The original outstanding editorial team was led by Tadataka Yamada, MD, one of the world's leading figures in GI research. This seventh edition of the Textbook features a new set of Editors-in-Chief and a new team of Associate Editors. This new editorial team has made substantial changes and updates to the Textbook, with a greater focus on the human microbiome, obesity, bariatric endoscopy and aging, along with consolidation of many older chapters. Led by Professor Michael Camilleri and Professor Timothy C. Wang, a stellar group of associate editors have once again combined with authors in their respective fields to communicate their vast fund of knowledge and experience to make the 7th edition of this iconic textbook the most comprehensive ever published.
Education
- Procedural Videos | AccessMedicineGastroenterology/Hepatology
- Procedural Videos | ClinicalKeyGastroenterology
Mayo Clinic Gastroenterology and Hepatology Board Review, 6th ed. by
Mayo Clinic Gastroenterology and Hepatology Board Review, Sixth Edition, has been thoroughly revised to review the core essential knowledge in gastroenterology, hepatology, and relevant related areas of radiology, pathology, endoscopy, and nutrition for physicians, trainees, gastroenterology fellows in training, medical residents, medical students, gastrointestinal assistants, nurses, allied health care personnel, and other persons caring for patients. This edition has been edited by a new team of Mayo Clinic gastroenterologists and hepatologists, under the stewardship of Dr. Stephen C. Hauser, the editor-in-chief of the previous fifth edition. The faculty who authored this edition are all Mayo Clinic physicians who spend their time caring for patients and teaching in an academic medical center. Accordingly, the emphasis of this edition is on clinical knowledge to enhance patient management. Case-based presentations and numerous board examination-type, single best-answer questions with annotated answers facilitate self-testing and studying. New to This Edition? New chapters on complications after Roux-en-Y surgery and endoscopy for the gastroenterology board examination? Features such as key facts and key definitions are included in each chapter? More figures and tables to support the text
ISBN: 9780197679777
Gastrointestinal and Liver Secrets, 6th ed. by
To practice the art of medicine, one must learn the secrets of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and therapy. In this text, you will find the answers to many questions about hepatic and digestive diseases. We hope that medical students, residents, fellows, and, yes, even attending physicians will find the sixth edition of Gastrointestinal and Liver Secrets instructive and insightful.
ISBN: 9780323936378
GI/Liver Secrets Plus by
Stay up to date on today's most common GI and liver disorders and their management with GI/Liver Secrets Plus. This enhanced medical reference book is an excellent resource for understanding the physiology and therapy in hepatic and digestive disease. Whether preparing for an exam or quickly checking a clinical question, the user-friendly Secrets Series® style makes this book a valuable addition to your library! Easily locate important information with bulleted lists, tables, boxes, short answers, and a highly detailed index to expedite reference. Access a broad range of topics that focus on all of today's most common GI and liver disorders and their management. Apply the latest knowledge and techniques with content thoroughly updated by leaders in the field. Quickly review key concepts with improved "Plus" formatting, which employs a Socratic Q&A approach designed to simulate the types of questions that may be used on patient rounds. Enhance your reference power through bulleted lists, mnemonics, "Key Points" summaries, lists of useful web sites, and practical tips from the authors. Improve content knowledge with a special chapter containing "Top 100 Secrets," providing an overview of essential material for last-minute study or self-assessment. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology Board Review by
Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology Board Review Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology: Board Review with Multiple Choice Questions is the only source you will need to pass the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) transplant hepatology examination. Written by two highly experienced hepatologists, this indispensable study guide covers all the main topics tested on the exam: pre-transplant, perioperative, post-transplant, and transplant immunology. 261 multiple-choice questions with answers, including questions based on the authors' real-life cases, are designed to mimic the clinical scenarios you will encounter in hepatology practice. Questions testing your medical knowledge, clinical insight, and management skills are supported by brief topic overviews, key references, high-quality images, pathology slides, and cholangiograms. Throughout the book, "Pearls" and "Must-Know Facts" sections emphasize testable points that are likely to appear on the ABIM board examination. The first hepatology-specific study aid of its kind, Hepatology and Transplant Hepatology: Board Review with Multiple Choice Questions is a must-have for medical professionals preparing for the hepatology boards, as well as practicing gastroenterologists and hepatologists who want to refresh their knowledge and test their proficiency in both fundamental and advanced hepatology topics.
ISBN: 9781119853527Publication Date: 2023-01-18
Journals
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Mayo Clinic Resources
- In processDietetics Clinical Resources
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: