Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

MSHS: Dietetic Internship: Databases to find Articles

Guide to assist dietetic interns in finding resources available through the Library and elsewhere.

Breakdown of Databases

Please note: This is not a comprehensive list of all the Library's databases. It is a list of the most commonly-used databases available through the Mayo Clinic Libraries.


 PubMed

-Similar to MEDLINE (Ovid). Free on the Internet; Use if you don't have Mayo remote access.

-PubMed guide


CINAHL [Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health]

 -Useful for finding articles from nursing/allied health journals.

-CINAHL guide


 Scopus

-Contains over 47 million citations, including conference papers, representing life sciences, health sciences (comprising all of Medline), physical sciences, social sciences and humanities from worldwide publishers. It also includes sophisticated tools to analyze research activity.

-Enables you to see articles that cited a particular paper and also articles that referenced a particular paper.

-Scopus guide


MEDLINE (Ovid)

-Includes nursing journals as well as other biomedical journals. Search both CINAHL & MEDLINE for a comprehensive search.

-MEDLINE (Ovid) guide


 HealthSTAR (Ovid)

-Citations to the non-clinical aspects of health care delivery including planning, administration, facilities, regulations, quality assurance, health insurance, finance, personnel, licensure and accreditation.

-HealthSTAR (Ovid) guide


EMBASE (Ovid)

-Strong on drug information. Useful for Anesthesia Nursing topics and complementary/alternative medicine.

-EMBASE (Ovid) guide


Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid)

-Systematic reviews on various topics. Good for evidence-based projects.

-Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Ovid) guide


 EBSCO MegaFILE

-Use to obtain full text information from an array of academic and business sources.

-EBSCO MegaFILE guide


Google Scholar

-Covers scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.  It is also useful for obtaining citation data.

-Google Scholar guide

Need help? Contact a Librarian.

Rochester: Dana Gerberi. (77)5-2008

Florida: Tara Brigham. (78)3-2176