eBook
Bronchoalveolar Lavage in Basic Research and Clinical Medicine by
This book providesa practical approach to bronchoalveolar lavage (BAL) and its analyses, which are used worldwide in both research and clinical settings. It includes useful guidelines with a theoretic background and provides details on microscopic and flow cytometric measurements for all known differential diagnostics made with BAL analyses, from chronic diseases like COPD and ILD via infectious diseases to inherited illnesses like cystic fibrosis. It includes BAL in both adult and pediatric medicine. The text is supported throughout by illustrations and clinical cases, serving as an invaluable resource for respiratory medicine and infectious disease clinicians and trainees. Key features: Uses BAL in the infectious diseases field and the search for respiratory viruses using the reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) technique. Presents contributions from worldwide experts. Clarifies the BAL technique and its diagnostic utility to respiratory physicians, cytologists, and pathologists involved in the diagnosis of pulmonary disease. Provides an updated perspective on the future applications of BAL techonology to research and clinical medicine.
ISBN: 9780367705428Publication Date: 2023-12-07
Lung Biology and Pathophysiology by
The lungs are the organ for gas exchange between the body and the external environment. Dysfunction of upper airway epithelium and smooth muscle cells leads to pathogenesis of asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), cystic fibrosis, and other conditions, resulting in airway inflammation and narrowing. Injury to alveolar epithelium and endothelium causes influx of neutrophil and protein-rich fluid from circulation, resulting in edema and disruption of gas exchange. In addition to lung structural cells, immune cells, including alveolar macrophages and lymphocytes play critical roles in the maintenance of lung function. This book contributes to the understanding homeostasis of lung cells in the physiological and pathological conditions critical to the development of novel therapeutics. Key Features Highlights the role the lungs play as an interface between the body and the environment Describes the underlying mechanism of lung diseases Emphasizes the ways nutrition contributes to lung health as well as the ways pollution adversely affect lung function Includes contributions from leading researchers Chapters 8 and 13 of this book are available for free in PDF format as Open Access from the individual product page at www.routledge.com. It has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
ISBN: 9781003833284
Practical Pulmonary Pathology, 4th ed. by
Part of the in-depth and practical Pattern Recognition series, Practical Pulmonary Pathology, 4th Edition, helps you arrive at an accurate diagnosis by using a pattern-based approach. Leading diagnosticians in pulmonary pathology offer practical assistance in identifying all major neoplastic and non-neoplastic diseases of the lungs, guiding you from a pathological pattern through the appropriate work-up, around the pitfalls, and to the best diagnosis. More than 1,000 high-quality illustrations capture key morphologic patterns for a full range of common and rare conditions and assist in the interpretation of complex diagnostic puzzles. A unique "visual index" at the beginning of the book directs you to the exact chapter and specific page you need for in-depth diagnostic guidance. Helps you quickly recognize the vast variety of appearances of the lung that result from infections, tumors, and tumor-like lesions, both malignant and benign. Discusses advances in molecular diagnostic testing, its capabilities and its limitations, including targeted/personalized medicine. Incorporates clinicopathologic background and relevant data from ancillary techniques (immunohistochemistry, cytogenetics, and molecular genetics), giving you the tools you need to master the latest breakthroughs in diagnostic technology. Covers the latest TNM staging and WHO classification systems, as well as new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, newly described variants, and new histologic entities. Color-codes patterns to specific entities, and summarizes key points in tables, charts, and graphs so you can quickly and easily find what you are looking for. Shares the knowledge and expertise of new co-editor, Dr. Maxwell L. Smith. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Pulmonary Pathology, 3d ed.
With more than 15 years since publication of the first edition of Pulmonary Pathology , we are thrilled to launch the third edition of this book. We appreciate the many kind words and helpful suggestions made by our readership and have endeavored to incorporate many of your ideas.
As expected, this edition includes a healthy (and much increased) representation of molecular and genetic pathology, much of which has moved from esoteric to mainstream. We expect that this trend will continue and that we will see expansion of the use of this knowledge to assist in diagnostic and prognostic assessment, therapeutic selection and monitoring, evaluation of disease susceptibility, and many other applications that will make themselves known.
That said, the original aim of this book remains the same—to provide students and practitioners of pulmonary pathology with the necessary tools to confidently interpret lung and pleural pathology. We continue to rely on morphology and immunohistochemistry as the basis for diagnosis, to be supplemented by molecular data as appropriate for differential diagnosis and postdiagnostic workup. As always, a truly integrated diagnosis also includes consideration of the clinical and radiologic findings, and we provide this information as well to enable diagnosis that makes sense from a multidisciplinary perspective.
As in the previous editions, clinicopathologic entities are presented in a richly illustrated, templated approach characteristic of the Foundations series. We are grateful to Dr. John Goldblum, our Editor-in-Chief, for his continued support of this volume in the Foundations series and to the editorial staff at Elsevier for making it happen. To the talented authors who have brought extraordinary expertise to each chapter: thank you for your time, for your friendship, and for all that you have taught us and the readers who will consult your works throughout the years. Finally, to our readers: it is a privilege to bring you this new edition, and we hope that it will play at least some small part in encouraging your interest and ongoing learning in pulmonary pathology.
ISBN: 9780323935487Publication Date: Dani S. Zander; Carol F. Farver; John R.Goldblum, 2025
