Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

MSHS: Dietetic Internship: EMBASE (Ovid)

Guide to assist dietetic interns in finding resources available through the Library and elsewhere.

Search EMBASE (Ovid)

Click here

EMBASE (Ovid) Overview

International in scope, EMBASE is a major biomedical database covering all of Medline and more provided by Ovid. Covers more than 7,700 journals.

Strengths

- Unrivaled for covering drug and pharmaceutical-related literature.

- Utilizes a controlled vocabulary that is more than twice as large as Medline's MeSH thesaurus known as Emtree.

- Offers proximity searching capability. For example, lung adj5 transplant allows you to search for a string of terms within five words of lung and trunsplant such as lung and antibiotics therapy in transplant.

- Citations date back to 1947.

- Shares the same interface with Ovid Medline and other Ovid databases.

- Includes recent conference abstracts (2009+).

- Includes references to the evidence-based Cochrane Systematic Reviews.

-Covers pre-publication Articles in Press.

- Search different Ovid databases at one time, e.g., you can search MEDLINE & EMBASE simultaneously (however, the "Map Term to Subject Heading" feature, which automatically utilizes a database controlled vocabulary, such as MeSH or EMTREE, is disengaged).

Limitations

- When doing a subject search, you must select the Explode option to expand search results.

Helpful Resources